SG 100 HOK intercoat clear, any tips for dry pearl? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2005, 05:08 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

SG 100 HOK intercoat clear, any tips for dry pearl?

A friend of mine wants to paint his Corrado, he wants to achieve a very dark violete pearl color, we saw the HOK catalog and it shows some violet dry pearl that can be shot over black base with intercoat clear and it will give the desired effect he's looking for, thing is I'm a newbie at this, I've only sprayed one car and it turned out really nice but it was just a regular BC/CC job, now my question is..... how hard is it to spray the dry pearl in the intercoat clear? is it akin to doing a kandy job where the whole lenght of the car has to be 'walked' as to avoid mottling or striping problems?.... or can I paint the bumper and maybe the hood separetely but at the same time than the rest of the body and still make it look nice and even?

I'm sure I'll have to shoot some of this mixture for practice and to settle on the right amount of dry pearl to be added to the SG clear, he bought two 2oz little jars of dry pearl and two quarts of SG-100, I think mixed 1:1 would give us an sprayable galon of the stuff. more than enough for the car I hope. Sorry for making this too looooong, any tips would be great please =).

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2005, 05:36 PM
Problem Child,Hard Case

Last journal entry: Strangest job I've ever done
Last photo:

Need some more info.
Are you repainting it black or is it black now?
I assume you are pearling the whole vehicle?