Shorty vs Long tube headers - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2011, 04:24 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Shorty vs Long tube headers

Hey guys I have a set of shorty headers on my 355 sbc and have heard that the long tubes provide a better exhaust flow, therefore a "little" better power gain, is this true?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-30-2011, 04:30 PM

Last photo:

I have two chevy s10's with v8's in them both and one has shorty headers and the other has long tube headers.

I am not an expert on headers but from what I have read long tube headers will make more power overall then shorty headers but shorty headers are way better then exhaust manifolds though. I don't have much experience except between my trucks but they both run very well and good with a dual exhaust system on them with turbo mufflers and have no back pressure issues.

In a nutshell the bigger the header and longer to some degree and if they are tuned well more power will be made to some degree with a trade off at a certain point with the tube size.
Eric
Old 06-30-2011, 04:54 PM

Last photo:

Shorty vs long tube

Thanks Eric my dads c10 has long tubes and my c10 has shorties so I was wondering the plus and minuses Thanks for your reply I appreciate it.
Old 06-30-2011, 05:16 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe428
Hey guys I have a set of shorty headers on my 355 sbc and have heard that the long tubes provide a better exhaust flow, therefore a "little" better power gain, is this true?