Silver paint! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2005, 11:04 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Silver paint!

Hello, I am new here. I'm working on customizing a bike from the frame up and this is my first project. My Dad and I have been involved with hot rods since I was a child and I know if you want questions answered.... the hot rod guys are the ones to ask!

So here's my question:

Silver Paint! I am looking to paint the whole bike, frame and all, in bright silver with light metallic grey ghost flames interweaved with blue flames.

What is the best kind of paint to use?
Anyone know of a really nice bright silver?

I guess I have a few other questions too!
I noticed on some of the customizing shows, the painter puts on a coat of what looks like bondo all over the bigger parts to be painted. I'm thinking this is to take care of any ripples in the metal (filler). What is this?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2005, 11:21 AM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,078 Times in 961 Posts
On the color, I have always just made a silver using the brightest flake on the mixing bank. The paint store should be able to do this for you. Most silvers have a lot of other toners in them and really aren't very bright when compared to a "pure" silver. You can also put a flatener toner to make the flake lay out nice and sparkle more.

NOTE: You guys who match color all day, if you havn't discovered this flatener is the "Holy Grail" of color matching. You can lighten a metallic color without adding flop or making it "silvery".