Small Block Chevy cooling - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2008, 07:42 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Small Block Chevy cooling

I'm fairly new to the hobby and get my information from books, sites such as this and knowledgeable friends. One of my books, "1001 More High Performance Tech Tips", mentions that for proper cooling, the Small Block Chevy water pump needs to be driven at 30-35% higher rpm than the crank. I've searched my other books, this Bulletin Board and have asked my knowledgeable friends about this, but nobody seems to be familiar with this SBC water pump overdrive concept. Has anybody on this Bulletin Board heard about this overdrive deal or have any experience with it?

Regards,
Grog

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-09-2008, 07:49 AM
Out of the Loop Moderator

Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 5

I would think that Chevy engineers went through all this. Measure the diameter of your crank pulley and water pump pulley see what the ratio is..........that is a start anyways..........

Budget RVs
Old 02-09-2008, 09:19 AM

Last photo:

Small Block Chevy Cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
I would think that Chevy engineers went through all this. Measure the diameter of your crank pulley and water pump pulley see what the ratio is..........that is a start anyways..........