smoke and mirrors, with less smoke - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2002, 06:39 AM
Race it, Don't rice it!

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Post smoke and mirrors, with less smoke

I've been working on cars for a living for over 6 years now and finally run into a problem that doesn't seem to have a cause, someone shoot some ideas at me, 126,000 mile Dodge Shadow 3.0 smokes like a chimney when warm, but not nessacerily all the time so my first thought was the guides. Hooked up the vacuum gauge and pulled a DEAD steady 21 inches, My next brian storm was a crack,(head/block/gasket/ but I haven't had to add coolant for over 6 months now, third thingto check was an overly rich mixture of fuel so I probed the back of the O2 senser and read on astounding 350 to 450 millivolts(near perfect ratio for the ideal 14.7:1) So the search must go on. Next test comes the comp test and all six cyl come out with 158 to 162 psi. Vry good for the age. So by the time I had doing all this stuff it had stopped smoking by then and I let it run at Idle for 1/2 hour then as soon as it started smoking agian I asked the niehbor to tell me what she thought it smelled like and she says water just plian boiling water with a hint of somthing unidentifiable. Probably CO2 from the cat converter, This boggles me even more, Leak down test shows less than 10%. So its not oil,coolant,fuel, Any ideas??????

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-09-2002, 07:26 AM

Can you tell if it is steam or is it actually smoke. If it is smoke is it more black than white. If it is white does it have a blue tint to it.