Solder...When and Why? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2006, 10:03 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Solder...When and Why?

Just wondering about solder, when to use it...advantages, disadvantages. Also solderless terminals, are there such a thing as terminals that need solder? Should they be used instead? Any help would be great.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Old 09-02-2006, 10:14 PM
Bowtie or Die!

Last photo:

As a rule... I solder every connection I make. Theres no down side to soldering just takes a few seconds more to do it. I work in a Shop that specializes in auto electrical repair. I have made a ton of money on cars that someone has installed those little blue and red crimp connectors. They come lose,corrode and lose contact over time. In some cases there ok, like on a small wire thats inside the car that carries a small electrical load.Most cars from the factory don't have soldered connections but they do use superior crimping techniques and weather packs and connectors not readily available or practical for the average Joe. But like I said as a rule I solder all connections,and use a good heat shrink where I can. I sleep better at night.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2006, 10:38 PM

Last photo:

Solder

The only downside is the average Joe not having the right equipement and the training.

Other than that, I totally agree with Duece. There is no substitution for me for solder.

Have you ever seen super expensive rods at Boyd's show with crimp on wire connectors? I have! I can't imagine why...