Solid Motor Mount Question? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2013, 07:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Solid Motor Mount Question?

Alright this might be a dumb question but I bought some moroso solid motor mounts and ARP bolts for my SBC 355 and if I put the mounts together their seems to be extra room that the motor could slide forward and backwards or atleast try to. Is this normal or to washers go between the motor mounts? Thank you.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2013, 06:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Monday bump
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2013, 06:36 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,882
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 254 Times in 207 Posts
I am not an expert on these things, but I would take the slack out with washers. Is this s street engine?.....If so, I wouldnt be using solid mounts
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to poncho62 For This Useful Post:
Trucknut (03-12-2013)
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2013, 07:06 PM
BigMo's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tennessee, near Smokey Mtns.
Posts: 166
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
The frame mounts are too narrow for the mounts. Either fab a wider piece for the frame side or live w spacers (ie. Washers) in the mount
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2013, 08:13 PM
Landshark928's Avatar
FrankenPorsche
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Age: 45
Posts: 459
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Did you get the right mounts? There are different widths available for the SBC. Washers would not be a great way to fix.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 12:25 AM
1Gary's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 383 dyno sym
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roch,NY
Age: 66
Posts: 1,526
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 201
Thanked 156 Times in 142 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62 View Post
I am not an expert on these things, but I would take the slack out with washers. Is this s street engine?.....If so, I wouldnt be using solid mounts
I'm with Poncho if it is for a street driven car.Plan on tightening every possible bolt/screw there is from the vibe's.Kind of treating it like a old Harley.

I addition to that is isn't uncommon in a drivetrain with solid mounts the output of the engine to seek and find the weakest link.A example of that is now you have solid mounts and your hooking the car hard and find now your breaking tranny cases needing a midplate.So you fix that problem and then your twisting driveshafts or breaking u-joints.So on and so on.Torque will find and expose the weakest link.The reason why that isn't so on a rubber mount is some of that is absorbed by the mount.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 05:04 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I was always led to believe they are bad ju-ju on a street car... Besides, aren't all new rubber motor mounts inter-locking?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 06:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 52
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
its a drag only car Im gonna email them today. It just seems like their should be a tighter fit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 06:08 AM
BigMo's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tennessee, near Smokey Mtns.
Posts: 166
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Used them on the street on many cars.....advise putting solid mount on tranny too.....never broke trans cases or driveshaft issues....and that was with a 700 horse big block in a Camaro. They do make a rubber isolated mount that has interlock to prevent motor walk if the mount does break. Some of the early Corvette and hi-po mounts had like a interlocking "fork" arrangement that restrained the motor on a hard pull, but still retained the rubber isolation during normal driving.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 06:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No problem with solid mounts on the street. Funny how people put solid frame to body mounts and suspension mounts in their cars but worry about solid engine mounts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 06:15 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
delete........

Last edited by Bonneville462; 03-12-2013 at 06:18 AM. Reason: Off original thread starters topic..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 02:14 PM
1badLemans's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: colorado
Age: 32
Posts: 152
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
You have the wrong engine mounts from moroso. Im currently solving this issue on my camaro due to switching from small block to big block. Go to their site and look for the ones that are narrower, they have the A and B measurements and part numbers there. Or of course switch the frame mounts to fit the moroso mm you have now. You "could" shim it but definitely not the correct way to get it done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 06:18 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,764
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 427 Times in 366 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod Breaker View Post
Alright this might be a dumb question but I bought some moroso solid motor mounts and ARP bolts for my SBC 355 and if I put the mounts together their seems to be extra room that the motor could slide forward and backwards or atleast try to. Is this normal or to washers go between the motor mounts? Thank you.
An old technique is to run a turnbuckle from a strong bolt on the engine to either a bolt or eye bolt in the firewall or to an available location or bracket on the frame to prevent fore/aft engine movement.

Once the engine is located where it needs to be, then the turnbuckle is rotated to take up any possible forward or backward movement on the mount then it's locked in place with a nut from either or both ends. Thus the engine cannot slide about in large or an elongated mounting hole.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 09:43 PM
1Gary's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 383 dyno sym
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roch,NY
Age: 66
Posts: 1,526
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 201
Thanked 156 Times in 142 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbogie View Post
An old technique is to run a turnbuckle from a strong bolt on the engine to either a bolt or eye bolt in the firewall or to an available location or bracket on the frame to prevent fore/aft engine movement.

Once the engine is located where it needs to be, then the turnbuckle is rotated to take up any possible forward or backward movement on the mount then it's locked in place with a nut from either or both ends. Thus the engine cannot slide about in large or an elongated mounting hole.

Bogie
Yep,we cabled them yrs ago.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2013, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hopewell, Va
Age: 62
Posts: 1,193
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 117 Times in 113 Posts
Solid Motor Mount Question?

Measure the width of the frame mounts then go to Moroso : Category Display Get the mount that matches the width of your frame mount. Here is some frame mount and motor mounts for 67-69 Camaros. Camaro Engine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor mount question 87fubar Hotrodding Basics 3 05-12-2011 05:23 PM
solid motor mounts/solid tranny mount carnahan Engine 6 03-25-2011 11:14 AM
Motor mount question cyberdork Hotrodding Basics 5 03-21-2011 08:03 PM
Solid motor mount Question greenmoonshine Engine 9 06-13-2009 08:49 PM
Motor mount question raidmagic Engine 6 10-23-2004 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.