Some help please - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2012, 10:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Clemente, Ca
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Some help please

Ok, here is my problem. I replaced the timing chain, cam, lifters, intake, carb, distributor, as well as put a ignition control box in. Now my car wont idle less then like 1500rpm.... When i do set it to around 800rpm the minute that i tap the throttle it dies, no hesitation, just shuts off. Now that i told you the problem, here is what im working with,

1972 Gran Torino
351M
140k miles

The New Parts:

Edelbrock intake (stock deck height)
Edelbrock Carb (1407)
Edelbrock cam and lifter kit (2172)
Chromolly push rods
Edelbrock double roller timing chain
Mallory 85 Series distributor w/ HEI cap
Mallory HYFIRE 6AL ignition control box



Anything that you can tell me, that will help will be amazing, and if anyone lives in the southern california area that would be willing to put a second set of eyes on it would be very helpful as well.


Thank you in advance.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2012, 10:53 AM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 8,330
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 342
Thanked 814 Times in 780 Posts
I would start by turning the idle screw in until it will remain running.
Check all tune up specs,especially timing and fuel pressure/volume. Make adjustments on carb for best idle speed and slowly lower idle speed and make re adjustments. Make sure choke and linkages are all working as per specs. If there is a particular RPM where it just shuts off,note that.
check that the spark is good. make sure you didnt over gap your new plugs
correct rotor and cap combo,no loose wires or poor connections,,,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2012, 11:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Atlantilc iowa
Posts: 427
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
I had a chevy 350 i rebuilt years ago that did that. Brother and I finaly got it solved. We had gotten the distridutor in one gear off. Check that also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2012, 11:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Clemente, Ca
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had a guy at the part store tell me the same thing, i didnt think that one tooth would make such a massive difference... Im going to strip the intake away and double check my seals, and put in new gaskets, and go from there. i want to have this damned thing running shortly its driving me nuts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2012, 12:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Atlantilc iowa
Posts: 427
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Look at it as fun and a learning experience. I've got a 77 nova and all i do is play with it. I'm lucky to put 500 miles a year on it. Don't worry, something else will not work and you'll have more fun and experience.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2012, 01:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Clemente, Ca
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Due to crappy weather, I am just now getting to look into this thing. Once i set it to TDC where EXACTLY should the distributor point? ive read that it should point at the #6 cylinder, and thats roughly where it is at. is there a specfic marker that i can line it upto?? cause this thing is frustrating as all hell.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2012, 01:36 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,259
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 106
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
With the #1 cylinder at TDC on the compression stroke, the rotor points to the #1 plug wire tower, as close as possible, get it running and time it. If you have the leeway to move the dist back and forth on each side enough to time it, the tooth off thing doesn't come into play, only for the timing chain alignment.
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 12:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Clemente, Ca
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok, so stupid question but the intake valves on ford engines are the front valve of the two right? Ive been working on this thing so damned much that im starting to see cross. an does anyone know, with the 2172 Cam kit from Edelbrock, which is one step up from stock, i shouldnt have to line it up to any other markers on the timing chain correct? it had the circle, triangle and square marks on it. When i was installing it, it didnt mention anything about the other marks. I just want this damned thing finished, and running again.

Anyone live in the SoCal area that wouldnt mind putting eyes on this thing and maybe seeing something i missed.....

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 12:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Clemente, Ca
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also, i think that the cam required me to set it at 8-10 deg BTDC, and i set it at TDC, that would effect how much i would be able to retard the timing wouldnt it, making it more dificult to get it set correctly. that and i think i was lining up the cap with the wrong damned cylinder, thats what i get for working on Chevys most my life, atleast i didnt line it up on the #1 like im used to. got that much right at least. anyway, thanks again in advance for any help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.