Spark arcing outside the plug?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 04:48 PM
85MonteSS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Age: 31
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Spark arcing outside the plug??

I just put in a new MSD HEI, MSD 6AL Box, MSD Super Conductor Wires, and Accel U-Groove spark plugs. I seen at night that at the end of the spark plug boot it is arcing on the outside of the spark plug going stright to the ground on the plug. I called MSD and they said that the plugs are carbon tracked but there new plugs, and MSD said they don't think its the wires. I heard making the gap bigger may solve this problem? Does anyone know how to fix this problem? Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 05:06 PM
johnnymopar's Avatar
Love your nails! You must be a Libra
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Stratford, ON, Canada
Posts: 599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i'm not 100% sure on this but i would think that the increasing the gap would make it worse. electricity is just like water and looks for the easiest path with the least resistance. obviously you've got a lot of spark that is looking for the easiest way to ground. if you increase the gap you are increasing the resistance required to get to ground. does this sound right? Anybody else? Pls correct me if I'm wrong on this.

JB
__________________
"Well done is better than well said." - Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 05:32 PM
85MonteSS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Age: 31
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would have to agree, I just want to know why it is arcing from the wire boot to the outside gound on the plug if it has new wires and plugs? The gap is set at what the engine calls for stock. Which is .045.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 05:33 PM
Restore60s's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kentucky
Age: 56
Posts: 291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Spark Arching

Johnny Mopars right. It's a resistance problem. Is it just 1 wire doing this or all? If it's just 1 then I would take a meter and check the wire or just put a known good wire in it's place. I would not increase any plug gaps. Just back track yourself a little and check all electrical connections on the system. I'm sure you have it correct but you know sometimes how you can get excited putting on new goodies. Check your grounds real good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 05:36 PM
85MonteSS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Age: 31
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
all the plugs are arcing, some brighter then others.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 06:11 PM
Restore60s's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kentucky
Age: 56
Posts: 291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arching

Check your grounds and engine grounds. Keep this in mind also--------- I learned something about 12 years ago while working on a Grand National Regal. It had a slight miss and running a test light down along the wires would arch. I put it on a Scope and it showed ALL cylinders with high Kv voltage(High Resistance) I replaced the wires & plugs, and the problem still was there. After 2 days of pulling my hair out over this the problem was the engine was running lean. It was getting all spark form a DIS-50,000 volt ignition and was not getting enough fuel.
If you are running a carb fed engine you may try to richen the mixture, If it's fuel injected try a new fuel filter.
I was blaming a secondary ignition even though it was new for a fuel problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 08:48 PM
Fordalac13's Avatar
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Spark Scatter?

Have you went back to your old plugs as a
comparison test? Just to see if they do the same thing? Jerry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 09:12 PM
Old enough to know better
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 417
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you haven't already, be sure to put some dielectric grease around the inside of the plug boots where they meet the plugs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2004, 09:25 PM
oldschoolrods's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Engine Compartment
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 806
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
judging from your post in the engine forum, i think your timing is off a bit, throw a light on it and see what happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-02-2004, 03:31 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Arc over

Doc here

Gap your plugs at 45 thousands, Make sure they are new.

Obtain and install silicone Boot grease around the Plug wire boots at the plugs.

Electricity Will follow the SHORTEST path to ground especially at several Thousands of volts..which may not be a spark plug.

Try running a 10 gauge ground wire from the MSD Box case to the block...

Did you make up the plug wires or were they pre~cut for your engine? you may have weak crimps if you had to cut and crimp them.

What size are the wires? 8 MM or larger? Should be...

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-02-2004, 09:12 AM
2-manytoyzs's Avatar
Start those projects someday
 

Last journal entry: Divco - has been on the back burner
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fresno
Age: 64
Posts: 557
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What brand of plugs did you use? Try the old ones and see what they do. Its not unusual to see a certain amount of external spark. Most people don't look at their engines in the dark. If you have done the above listed things it might be a normal issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2004, 04:17 PM
85MonteSS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Age: 31
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi,
I tried everything you guys said to do, Messed with the gap size, tried my old spark plugs and wires, put dielection grease on the boots, and the problem is still happening, I don't know of anything else to do. The wires are new MSD 8.5mm Superconductor wires with new Accel U-Groove Plugs! Have any other ideas of what to do let me know.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:02 PM
oldschoolrods's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Engine Compartment
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 806
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If your headers aren't glowing anymore and the car is running ok...run it just be sure you dont have a gas leak in the engine compartment
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2004, 12:09 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
You might try...

Quote:
Originally posted by 85MonteSS
Hi,
I tried everything you guys said to do, Messed with the gap size, tried my old spark plugs and wires, put dielection grease on the boots, and the problem is still happening, I don't know of anything else to do. The wires are new MSD 8.5mm Superconductor wires with new Accel U-Groove Plugs! Have any other ideas of what to do let me know.

Thanks!
Doc here

Just a thought, (day~am...another self induced headache...)

You might try one of two things ... High temp epoxy/gyptar <-SP?(insulating) paint on the heads (around the plug wells)

OR:

Try to adapt something like a ceramic plug boot sleeve, like they use on Hemi's or other recessed Plug type heads...

Never Tried it...but what was that about the mother of invention?

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2004, 12:19 AM
Old School Nut's Avatar
machinest & A&P Mechanic
 

Last journal entry: distributer housing...
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 30
Posts: 363
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Doc, talking about glyptal? the red stuff guys paint the inside of their motors with?

as for the arcing, you have them shorty plugs? are the boots tight on the plug?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.