Speedo cable blues - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2010, 02:20 PM
Vela's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Speedo cable blues

Hi Jon and all,
I'm new to rodding (although a buddy and I built a '32 Ford 3-wind coupe with a '59 Chevy 283 while we were in HS.

Now I'm old and gray and don't fit under the cars ad well. I'm retired and purchased a '23 Bucket T on a whim while in another state.
The car was registered on the road there but NJ will not register it until I have an inspection from a Street Rodder member somewhere.
Interesting Catch 22.... I need it inspected to get it on the road but I can't drive it on the road to get it inspected!

Anyway, I'm putting directionals on, stop lights and a speedometer ~ which is where my problem is.
The car never had a speedometer on it, just a tach, so I got an electronic speedometer and though I had an easy job.

First, getting the car up high enough to get under and move around was a chore in itself but that's another story.
I've looked all over the tranny ~ both sides, from the front, from the back, even asked mechanics at custom garages, but I cannot see where to screw the electronic sender into it.
I think I see a place on the driver's side but it has a metal seal down in it but it has female threads not male like my sender has...
I've lost all summer trying to get this on the road and it looks like it won't see much action until next year.
Can anyone help that has experience with the t400?
Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2010, 02:26 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,857
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 247 Times in 201 Posts
welcome.....A T400 has the speedo gear assembly in the tail housing of the tranny on the drivers side.....your electronic sender should mount there, if I am not mistaken.....

I am going to move this to the transmission forum....an expert there should know.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs

Last edited by poncho62; 08-30-2010 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2010, 02:44 PM
Vela's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you poncho,
I looked on that tail piece but so no connections at all. I appreciate the move.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2010, 03:05 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,519
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 146 Times in 133 Posts
If you can post a photo of the sender, that will help us. The TH400 is designed for a speedo cable to attach at the rear driver's side of the case, just ahead of where the tailhousing bolts on.

Here's a photo of the speedo drive adapter installed in the trans.



Here's a photo of an electronic speedo sender in a TH400.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2010, 05:19 PM
Vela's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply Joe,
I really appreciate the photos ~ it's the first I've seen of the area.....
As you can see by my photos there is nothing but a plug in the hole
(my luck) and I also sent a picture of the sender.
Any further help will be GREATLY appreciated.
Keith
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Speedo-web-01.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	340.7 KB
ID:	47806   Click image for larger version

Name:	Speedo-web-02.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	298.0 KB
ID:	47807   Click image for larger version

Name:	Speedo-web-03.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	306.9 KB
ID:	47808   Click image for larger version

Name:	Speedo-Sender.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	308.1 KB
ID:	47809  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2010, 06:16 PM
sbchevfreak's Avatar
Licenced Automotive Technician
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land of big Easter eggs, Alberta
Age: 34
Posts: 1,604
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Looks like your "sender" is meant to thread onto an existing mechanical speedo drive. Looks to me like you will need to pull the cup plug out of the dricve hole, and install a drive, then attach your electronic unit to that. Knowing what the trans and rear end were out of will help get the appropriate drive. Otherwise, hard mount a GPS unit in the dash in easy driver view, and use the speedo function on that. No cables or complec connections needed, .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2010, 11:48 PM
Vela's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks a lot sbchevfreak,

That GPS idea is just what I need.... it would save me a boat-load of time.
I don't know what the tranny came out of but it has a 9" rear end. I never saw a transmission without the speedometer connection on it. Odd!
I'll try to find the parts needed as I've already spent too much money on that already, but if I can't find anything in a week or so, the GPS sounds like the answer.
Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2010, 04:51 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vela
Thanks a lot sbchevfreak,

That GPS idea is just what I need.... it would save me a boat-load of time.
I don't know what the tranny came out of but it has a 9" rear end. I never saw a transmission without the speedometer connection on it. Odd!
I'll try to find the parts needed as I've already spent too much money on that already, but if I can't find anything in a week or so, the GPS sounds like the answer.
Keith
odds are that the trans is out of a 4x4 and whoever built it swapped out the output shaft to make it a 2wd. when they capped off the hole for the speedo like that, the speedo usually goes into the transfer case.
now, heres the thing, your going to need a speedo housing along with both the drive and driven gears so you can hook up your electronic adapter to get a reading.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2010, 06:48 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,915
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Having recently utilized a GPS unit as the speedo in my sedan/delivery build, I would put in a strong vote for going that route. Ebay the parts you have accumulated so far and find yourself a GPS that has a nice, large display for the speedo function. It will turn out cheaper and more accurate than your mechanical/electrical set up (since you no doubt have different size tires and a different rear end ratio which will throw off your mph and odometer readings). And on top of that, you'll have the trip planning function of the GPS for those occasions when you might need it.

Here's a shot of my Garmin showing the speedo display. The mph numbers are shown digitally within that black circle you see. They are quite visible and easy to read.

__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:33 AM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
sending unit

as mentioned above to replace it with a screw on so your new pick-up will work.. i'm using auto meter on a th350 in my bucket and works great.. and when your done, get QQ tags. hopefully its reg as a '23..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2010, 11:35 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,519
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 146 Times in 133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vela
Thanks for the quick reply Joe,
I really appreciate the photos ~ it's the first I've seen of the area.....
As you can see by my photos there is nothing but a plug in the hole
(my luck) and I also sent a picture of the sender.
Any further help will be GREATLY appreciated.
Keith
No biggie. It looks like someone just removed the stock speedo drive adapter and hammered in a freeze plug. Pop the freeze plug out, clean up the sealer snot, and the stock speedo drive adapter should fit right in. The adapter seals with an o-ring and is retained with a clip and bolt, as shown in the first photo I posted. Your after market speedo sender is designed to attach to the stock mechanical speedo drive gear. That sender also has an output to allow you to connect a speedo cable as well, but I guess you can just ignore that part.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:55 PM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_padavano
It looks like someone just removed the stock speedo drive adapter and hammered in a freeze plug. Pop the freeze plug out, clean up the sealer snot, and the stock speedo drive adapter should fit right in. The adapter seals with an o-ring and is retained with a clip and bolt, as shown in the first photo I posted. Your after market speedo sender is designed to attach to the stock mechanical speedo drive gear.

I agree ... a easy fix ...
Here is what it should look like
( but this is a 700R4 ... the Turbo 400 works exactly the same )



You need these ...



And a gear for the output shaft.



Abot a 30 minute job ... after you get the tail housing off.
__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:12 PM
Vela's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you all for your advice.... it is very much appreciated.
And I will say that as I've been looking for weeks for definitive answers to my problem, this site with it's knowledgeable members is the only actual information that I got that makes any sense!
I am no pro and I have very limited ability when working on this car, so I will probably go the "easy" route ~ use a GPS and eBay the other parts.

Now that I've found so many helpful Rodders, I'll have some more questions for other posts later.
Thanks again for everyone's help.... you've solved my problem and made me more informed
Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedo cable problems? 77formulabandit Transmission - Rearend 1 09-02-2008 06:02 PM
How can i extend the speedo cable. 7t2HQ Interior 6 11-19-2004 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.