Speedometer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2003, 01:43 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: jacktown
Age: 28
Posts: 110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Speedometer

Can someone tell me how to fix the speedometer in my 1981 grand prix? The mileage doesn't even work.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2003, 01:54 AM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Check the cable first, disconnect it from the rear of the tranny and spin it while having someone watch the speedometer (go both directions). If the speedo rises at all while spinning the cable, pull the gear out that the cable attaches to and check it. If the gear is bad you will have to change both gears as a set or you'll be changing it again soon if you just change one.

If the speedo doesn't move while spinning the cable, pull the middle out of the cable (remove the cable from the housing) and make sure it's not broken (still has both square ends). If you can't pull the cable out of the housing, disconnect it from the speedo end and have someone hold one end from turning. You shouldn't be able to turn it from the other end.

Last edited by BstMech; 11-16-2003 at 02:00 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2003, 07:09 AM
Tazz
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: amherst,ohio
Age: 66
Posts: 2,049
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sounds like BstMech has it covered. First thing I thought of was a worn out cable or stripped gear., the inside will strip out and the cable will spin inside of it. You didn't say how many mile are on your ride. A high mileage car might have the cable disconnected at the spedo, sometimes the spedo will whine real loud and disconnecting it is the only way to stop the noise. Be sure the spedo is connected at both ends, just a thought. Remember to tell us what you find , makes it all worth while, don't ya know!! Also a learning experience for us all.


Todd

Rat Rods Rule!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2003, 08:38 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: jacktown
Age: 28
Posts: 110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
does autozone carry the gears?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2003, 08:40 PM
Gettin a life..Goodbye
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bye
Posts: 128
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think the gears are a dealer item. Be sure to take the old one with you. They need to count the teeth and get an exact gear. They are cheap and plentiful. I had a whole bunch of them when I was trying to calibrate my truck to a new rear end.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2003, 09:55 PM
Rubberman2003's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ohio
Age: 29
Posts: 806
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AS they said, the gears are very specific, i took mine to a Tranny place and he had some extras (he gave me some ) what a cool guy. I guess the rear ratio/tire size/tranny, they all matter, make sure you know all those things.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2003, 05:06 AM
Gettin a life..Goodbye
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bye
Posts: 128
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got tired of foolin around with that gear stuff. I bought a VDO electronic speedo for my truck. You just install the head and screw the sending unit on the transmission where the cable goes then drive down the highway hit the button to calibrate it. No more guessing and you can recalibrate it if you change tire size, tranny gears, or rear end ratios.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.