speedometer ouput pluged? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 173
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
speedometer ouput pluged?

i bought a vdo speedo and a vdo sending unit to be used with a gm tranny. so today i go to screw in the sending unit only to notice that the output on the tranny where the factory cable would go has what looks like a soft plug in the whole, there is no threaded thing for me to screw the sending unit on to. So i go over to another trany i had laying around (77' olds th350) it has the output thing i need, but the hole it goes in is about 2 or more inches in diameter and the other tranny's hole is about an inch in diameter?. Should I remove the plug? would a local store(napa, pepboys...) have a output thing I am looking for?
any help would be great

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:11 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,182
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
more information please

Make and model of the tranny you want to install the speed-O hookup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blob
i bought a vdo speedo and a vdo sending unit to be used with a gm tranny. so today i go to screw in the sending unit only to notice that the output on the tranny where the factory cable would go has what looks like a soft plug in the whole, there is no threaded thing for me to screw the sending unit on to. So i go over to another trany i had laying around (77' olds th350) it has the output thing i need, but the hole it goes in is about 2 or more inches in diameter and the other tranny's hole is about an inch in diameter?. Should I remove the plug? would a local store(napa, pepboys...) have a output thing I am looking for?
any help would be great
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 173
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
its a gm th350, i dont know what it cam out of since i bought it off a friend
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:56 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,182
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
IF both trannys are t-350 , then one has a buick / pontiac style tail housing with large speed-O hole for the speed-O bullet.

the small speed-O bullet tail housing is a chevy piece.

You cannot mix and match these speed-O parts. the plastic gears on the out put shafts of each unit look the same diameter, they are not
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedometer with its own mind???? Old School Nut General Rodding Tech 15 06-06-2008 05:10 PM
Speedometer Information. M&M CUSTOM Transmission - Rearend 0 04-03-2005 09:47 AM
Speedometer Problem - Not sure where to put this? Fragzem Transmission - Rearend 6 02-04-2005 03:09 PM
Speedometer gear housing problem guba_unus Transmission - Rearend 1 01-09-2005 08:08 PM
700R4 - Speedometer chev38 Transmission - Rearend 10 05-06-2004 09:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.