speedo's - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2003, 09:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Yuma,Az.
Age: 53
Posts: 64
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
speedo's

Anyone here have personal experience with Autometer
electronic speedo's? Are they as easy as they claim to calibrate and reliable? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2003, 05:14 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
I have been researching gages for my street rod, and have settled on AutoMeter. One reason was their website. It has a wealth of technical information on it, including .pdf files you can download.

The calibration proceedure for their electronic speedometer is very simple. When installing it you mount a small switch in some out of the way place. Take the vehicle out to a measured two mile distance. Press the switch once, then start the two mile drive. As you approach the end of the two mile drve, and when you stop, press the switch again. The speedo is calibrated. This proceedure is explained on their website in a .pdf you can download. I suspect the proceedure is the same for VDO and other gages. AutoMeter has been around a real long time, and I have seen them in a lot of rods that I have been looking at. As mentioned above, their website is superior to all others in my opinion.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2003, 07:46 AM
EBlack36's Avatar
Rebuilt Excitment
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansing, Ks
Age: 61
Posts: 595
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I use VDO gauges and have for a long time. The speedo is very easy to calibrate, the button is on the front of the speedo and you drive a measured mile and it is correct. The other thing I like is customer service. I once lost a votlmeter right before a trip to street rod nationals several years ago, put in an old gauge I had in the garage and took the gauage to VDO's booth, they gave me a new one no questions ask. I have heard autometer is very good also, but I have never dealt with them personnally. Just my 2 cents worth.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2003, 03:21 PM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 65
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts



I hate electric gizmos..........

I am old school and I use Stewart Warner. The cable driven kind.



A speedometer is set to turn 1000 RPMs in a mile.

It is simple math to calibrate the driver/driven gears in the transmission/speedomter cable .



.
__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 12:58 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 33
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
1000 RPM per Mile?????

What do you mean by this? The RPM must chang depending on your speed - so 1000 rpm per mile at what speed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:23 PM
BillyShope's Avatar
Philippines Cowboy
 

Last journal entry: THE TRACTION DYNO
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 78
Posts: 862
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 38project
What do you mean by this? The RPM must chang depending on your speed - so 1000 rpm per mile at what speed?
It's been a long time, but, as I recall, 1000 rpm is 50 mph.

I didn't think I'd like an electonic speedometer, but my VDO is great! Another way to "tweak" it is to access a number, with that button that's been mentioned, which represents the pulses per mile and change it as a ratio to the speeds involved. Boy, does that sound confusing! What I'm trying to say is, if you're going 47 when the speedo says 45 and the number is 43725 (it's a number about that size, as I recall), then you want to change it to (45/47)43725 or 41864.

(No, that number sounds too high! That would mean about 35 pulses per revolution from the sending unit at the transmission. Well, whatever it is, that's how you'd adjust it.)

Last edited by BillyShope; 06-15-2005 at 03:37 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:08 PM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 65
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 38project
What do you mean by this? The RPM must chang depending on your speed - so 1000 rpm per mile at what speed?


The speed has NOTHING to do with the fact that a speedometer cable must turn 1000 times in a mile.

It will turn 1000 times in a mile at 20 mph and 1000 times at 75 mph. It just takes a lot less TIME for the cable to turn 1000 times.......

.
__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:57 PM
BillyShope's Avatar
Philippines Cowboy
 

Last journal entry: THE TRACTION DYNO
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 78
Posts: 862
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deuce
The speed has NOTHING to do with the fact that a speedometer cable must turn 1000 times in a mile.

It will turn 1000 times in a mile at 20 mph and 1000 times at 75 mph. It just takes a lot less TIME for the cable to turn 1000 times.......

.
Caught me with my brain disengaged. Yes, the 1000 rotations per mile is unaffected by speed, but, when you're calibrating a speedometer in a machine, you're interested in cable rotating speed, not rotations per mile. But, this means my memory has failed me and it is 60 mph at 1000 rpm, and not 50. (Could have sworn it was 50, but my memory is playing tricks on me, I guess. Been a long time since I used a machine.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.