SPI clear - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2010, 12:54 PM

Last journal entry: Grille
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

SPI clear

Which SPI clear is the best? I'm painting whole car (my 68 Charger)
I'm planning on using either PPG DBU or DBC base. This will not be baked (air dry) I don't care about fast dry speed, I'm not a production shop.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-20-2010, 01:52 PM
SPI Thug

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:

universal clear. 3 coats and block then 3 more .
Old 11-20-2010, 02:05 PM

Last photo:

could I just put 4 on and then wet sand/buff?
Old 11-21-2010, 06:38 AM

Last wiki edit: Stripping paint Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 11

I like the universal also...
Its up to you how you want to do it,for regular cars 2 coats is plenty then sand and buff if needed but sanding and reclearing is the way to go for a super nice job, I guess it all depends on how straight the bodywork is...doing a super nice paint job on a wavey body is a waste of time...but well worth the extra effort on super straight body....
Start with three coats ,see how it looks and go from there...
Old 11-21-2010, 07:03 AM
SPI Thug

Last photo:

let me know how the repairs go after you burn it.
Old 11-21-2010, 08:56 AM