square bore/stroke and high rod/stroke ratios - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2010, 11:27 AM

Last journal entry: Starting the build, 333ci chev, 195 cc jegs heads
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

square bore/stroke and high rod/stroke ratios

I am a mechanic so I obviously work on a lot of different vehicles cars and trucks all day. So naturally we get to drive such vehicles and see what is wrong with them (or what is so great about them). No offense intended to you modular guys but the reason for my research into this was because doggy your trucks are compared to other trucks.

It is about a lot of different factors but it really comes down to bore/stroke ratios and Rod/stroke ratios. If you look at bmw, honda, nissan, chevrolet, mitsubishi,etc and look at what motors are revving higher making more power and lasting longer the best of all the worlds combined they have some things in common. They a square bore/stroke ratio and a fairly high rod/stroke ratio. as in 1/1 ratio for bore and stroke and Rod/stroke ratio: 1.745 for a b16a honda motor for example. (btw the ls7 is very close to square bore/stroke this is not "an import thing")

So my question is this why not have all the motors closer to this? aside from the motors that need to pull a house (ie a truck motor) which btw the ls series motors have a shorter stroke compared to teh ford 4.6 or 5.4 which who has a stroke way higher than their bore. so.... yeah ford finally is catching this with their 5.0 cammer and coyote motors.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2010, 11:39 AM

Last photo:

bore/stroke and rod/stroke have FAR less to do with it than you think.