start button wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2003, 01:39 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: boulder creek, CA
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
start button wiring

does anyone have an easy way to wire in a hidden starter button for my ford,thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2003, 07:49 PM
johnnymopar's Avatar
Love your nails! You must be a Libra
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Stratford, ON, Canada
Posts: 599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

it shouldn't be too hard. just find a momentary switch that you want to use and figure out where to mount it. if it can handle the starter circuit current then just wire it in, otherwise you'll have to use a relay.

"Well done is better than well said." - Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2003, 05:11 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,749
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 35
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
you mean ignition wire hopefully? dont need 10awg wire that way
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2003, 12:53 AM
Silver_Camaro's Avatar
Superior Wheels Quality Tech
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas
Age: 29
Posts: 385
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
find the hot wires goin up the steering column to the key switch. Run wires off of them to the switches. Seems like you'll probably have to have 2 switches. 1 toggle switch to turn everything on and 1 momentary switch to start it. This is assuming you are wanting to start and run it without the keys. Like the others said though.. Just be sure that the switches can handle the ampreage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Please select your insurance company (Optional)


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.