Start a car with welder - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2007, 10:16 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Start a car with welder

First off, hey everyone, it has been a while, I haven't posted/read through the site in months... Alot of things going on, not much time (seems to happen a lot!). Still working on my 1970 mustang fastback project, and just acquired a 1988 jeep wrangler 4.2L inline 6 for free. About to fire it up, and see how things go.

So that is what got me to thinking, I was trying to start it last night, with a new starter, some gas in the carb, got it sputtering, but drained the battery before she fired nicely.

I have a Lincoln weld pak 5000HD, 175Amp output. Im no pro, but I think the output is about 22 volts or so? Just wondering if anyone has ever heard of dropping this down to 12 volts, and using it to start a car? If you had a constant DC out of a stick welder or the like, wouldn't it work? So long as you got the voltage to around 12 (14.7 etc.) wouldn't it have enough current to drive the starter?

Anyways, a quick search didn't turn anything up, maybe it isn't enough juice? How much current goes through a starter when you start cranking?

So what do you maniacs think?
Mike

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2007, 11:26 AM

Last photo:

This can be dangerous and I would not recommend it to anyone, BUT I have started a heck of a lot of 24 volt and occasionally 12 volt systems on mining equipment with diesel powered welders over the years so yes it can be done. In fact during the winter months this was almost a normal procedure
Old 03-29-2007, 12:10 PM