Start just makes a click most of... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2011, 01:24 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Starter just makes a click most of...

I have read several post on this website and none seems to be quite the same problem as I have. Most of the time when I try to sart my Nova (350, auto) I get a click. Sometime it well start hot and cold. I have been driving this car for about two years almost daily. This problem just started about 5 days ago. I have replace the starter twice, I have a new battery, which is good and hot, I have replaced the battery cables. If I jump it or put the battery charger on it it well start. Also, I hooked up a temp. wire from the small post on the start (same post as the wire from the harness) and as I touch it to the positive post on the battery it turns over like it should. Please help, and thanks for reading my first post. R Nova

Advertisement

Last edited by R Nova; 05-04-2011 at 01:32 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-04-2011, 03:08 PM
life is a ride

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:

The fact that it cranks OK when you jumper the starter indicates that something is not making a good connection in the start circuit.
Ignition sw. , Neutral Start sw. , Bad wire connection somewhere.
Even if you here a click there may not be enough current to fully activate the starter solenoid.

vicrod
Old 05-05-2011, 04:51 AM

Last journal entry: Bringing home the 401 Nailhead
Last photo:

Check your ground connections. Battery neg to ground. Engine to chassis ground. Etc.
Old 05-05-2011, 05:06 AM