start the resto - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2003, 05:19 PM
hungry cannibal, raving animal

Wiki Edits: 0

Post start the resto

well im just about to launch a full restoration on a 1967 camaro RS. I've never done this before, but I have some idea of what to do. The thing that is gonna be the hardest (at least for now) is to remove the rear quarters and replace them (I have the replacements). What is the best way to cut them off, cutting torch or pnuematic saw? Then how to attach them, MIG welder, right? Then what after that.
Any info would be great, thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-14-2003, 07:02 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Auto Terms and Definitions Used in Modern Engine T... Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 2

Hold your horses there. The way they are removed is by finding and CAREFULLY drilling out the factory spot welds. There will be one section that has to be cut at the top of the quarter between the door and rear glass. I would suggest a reciprocating saw with a fine blade. Just take your time and make sure you dont remove too much material where you have to make the cut. You are dealing with a work of art there.

Chris
Old 05-19-2003, 09:34 PM

Last photo:

Be sure to check for wires ect. and if you butt weld cut about 2 inch pice off of the top of your old quarter and place it under the old quarter leaving 1 inch for the new quarter to weld to and be sure not to cut your new quarter to short you need to have the new one to butt to the old one I hope you understand what Im saying and like Turbo sayed cut your old welds out frist
Old 05-20-2003, 07:17 PM