starter issues - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2011, 07:40 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

starter issues

Hello there I am new to the sight so please bear with me. I recently swapped out my automatic in my 83 gmc sierra classic to a muncie 4 speed that I took out of an 83 gmc sierra. Both have 350 crate motors. I've got the tranni installed but when I try to start it the starter dosen't fully engage the flywheel and it chatters. My battery is fine and I am using a charger/booster just to make sure. I've tried about every combination of shims, didnt help. The motor will turn over by hand fine so its not an engine issue. I am using the starter that came out of the donor truck which is also the same as the starter in my truck. The flywheel came of a gmc van and is 268 tooth count which is the same as both trucks. My truck has an external balance and the donor truck has an internal balance camshaft. Hence the vans flywheel which matched up!! I'm stumpped!! My mechanic friend is getting me the starter out of the van just to see if its different but I don't think it is. Hopping for some thoughts. Thanks!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-09-2011, 07:50 PM
How’s that hopey-changey thing

Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 8

The fly wheels are differant
168-Tooth, External Engine Balance,
153-Tooth, Internal Engine Balance,

"My truck has an external balance and the donor truck has an internal balance camshaft."

So if your trucks motor is external balanced you will need the fly wheel for that application.

Last edited by pepi; 08-09-2011 at 08:11 PM.