Hot Rod Forum banner

Starting problem

4K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  alittle1 
#1 ·
Hello all

Ive been reading different posts here for a while and trying to search out answers but i figured i might as well ask.. (plus im new at working on cars)

anyways, i just got a 72 Nova recently. Its my first project car. It has a 327ci with a th400 trans. It seems lately its been having problems starting. I turn the key and it doesnt crank over. I have a batt gauge inside showing about 12v but as soon as i turn the key it drops to 6v and keeps gradually dropping from there. I've tried jump starting it and it didn't work, tried using a portable jump start and still nothing. I can crank it for about 10 seconds but i stop before i go too long and then if i try again it doesnt even crank. I'm wondering if it is the battery itself since it has the side posts and from what I've heard those cause a lot of problems for people.. any ideas?
Once I get it back to the house i'll probably replace the batt and batt cables and hopefully that'll help, but i figured i'd see other opinions before i go spend money on something i might not need.

#2 · (Edited)
Possible dead short in the battery. Don't try boosting with that battery in place anymore_ it could explode in your face.

Put another battery in its place and try to turn it over. If it clicks, but won't turn, it could be a cable issue or starter is burnt out. Make sure that your cables are cleaned.

Also, make sure that the little red wire that goes to the positive battery clamp is on securely and the other end connects to the terminal block on the rad support on the right (pass.) side.

Go to this link to learn more: http://www.stevesnovasite.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-62225.html

#3 ·
Thanks for the info.