steps to installing main bearings? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2009, 09:02 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

steps to installing main bearings?

this is my first build and i just got the block and crank back from the shop after having the block honed w/torque plate, clearances checked, crank polished as well as the rotating *** balanced. amoungst other things. said standard size bearings would be fine (newer vortec block). just wanted to make sure i do this right. any suggestions more than welcome.

yes or no:
1. light assm lube on crank journal and bottom bearing
2. set crank in, light assm lube on top
3. set in plasigauge light lube on top bearing and cap
4. torque cap down
5. take back apart and check plasigauge for .002-.0022 clearence.
6. if checks out. assemble?

is this pretty much the same for the rod bearings as well?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-23-2009, 10:12 PM
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel

Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 16

Assemble your bearing shells in their "home." First make sure you wipe down the saddles AND bearings with a solvent on a lint-free rag. That is very important. I like to wipe them down with acetone on a shop towel, then blast them quickly with brake parts cleaner. The brake parts cleaner evaporates completely leaving nothing behind, and it also rinses off any possibility of lint. I also like to use a plastic mallet to tap the bearings into place from the ends. Avoid smooshing them in by just pushing down on the center with your thumb. They could deform.