stiff leaf springs?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2011, 01:31 PM

Last journal entry: rigor-mortis of the suspension.
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

stiff leaf springs??

My truck is a 2000 s10. I'm trying to find out how I can stiffen the suspension all around so that the truck doesn't handle that much worse on the street, and can launch pretty good off the line. Basically.... I'm new at this and have no idea what I can do as far as stock style suspension to make it stiffer. Coilovers... 4-links... I would but I have a budget that's not all too big as of now. Any ideas... lemme know.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-04-2011, 09:02 PM

Last wiki edit: Suspension: designs, shapes, sizes Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 7

If you are not doing a lot of hauling this is what I did to my 90 S-10 to improve ride and cornering (and appearance).

Cut a coil to a coil and a quarter off the front springs to lower it. That helps looks and handling with a lower c/g and increasing the front spring rate.

Take second leaf below the main leaf off the rear spring to soften the rear end for increased traction on acceleration and to lower the rear a bit. Install lowering blocks to get the rear where you want it in relation to the lowered front end. It will ride better too!

Put a fabricated clamp around all the leafs of the rear spring forward of the axle. Leave them loose rear of the axle. That helps with wheel hop. Kinda like cheap traction bars.

Align the front end to get 1/2 to 3/4 degree negative camber, and set caster at about 2 1/2 degrees positive. That will help handling quite a bit.