stock 454+blower=???? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2012, 06:19 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

stock 454+blower=????

Hey I have a gen IV 454 from an 88 chevy one ton that i plan to put in my 56 chevy and I've run accross a 6-71 roots blower that I'm really wantin to put on and the guy I bought it from does a lot of drag racing and such and says that the stock internals (crank, rods, pistons, etc) would handle the blower as long as i dont crank the boost up a whole lot. Is this right? if so, what pulleys should i run (how many teeth? etc) i plan to put a small cam in to give it a little lope n am runnin on a fairly low cost build, any help here is greatly appreciated as I'm new to the supercharger world lol

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2012, 07:05 PM

Last photo:

3 tp 5 lbs boost bds has a chart for pulleys and boost estimate it will work just listen to the blower guys on here who run on the street.
Old 02-27-2012, 07:09 PM

Ok awesome, thanks for the help
Old 02-27-2012, 07:57 PM
US Navy-Retired

Last photo:

There is a lot more involved than just bolting it on.

Do you have two or four bolt mains?

Going to have to convert to a short water pump, alternator will go to the driver side, convert to a type 2 PS pump, limitation on space may require electric fans, increase fuel supply, to name a few.

Really should tear into the engine and do it right the first time.

Last edited by NOlowrider; 02-27-2012 at 08:26 PM.
Old 02-27-2012, 09:19 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 9