Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Suspension - Brakes - Steering (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/suspension-brakes-steering/)
-   -   str8 axle to ifs on 63 f100 (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/str8-axle-ifs-63-f100-220210.html)

tobym 06-04-2012 07:18 PM

str8 axle to ifs on 63 f100

Looking for best most cost effecient way to replace the straig ht axle front end with a modern ifs disc brake set up. Leaning against cutting off frame rails in botching in a new front half. Looking for any help from those who have already been here. Keep in mind I am a lowly paid welder . Thankx for any help I can get. This is my first project of this level so I'm a bit green.

S10xGN 06-05-2012 08:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tobym
Looking for best most cost effecient way to replace the straig ht axle front end with a modern ifs disc brake set up. Leaning against cutting off frame rails in botching in a new front half. Looking for any help from those who have already been here. Keep in mind I am a lowly paid welder . Thankx for any help I can get. This is my first project of this level so I'm a bit green.

Not sure if your model year is valid, but the late model Crown Vic front suspension crossmember and all outboard parts literally bolt into early 70's F-100's. You might look around on some of the Ford Truck boards or google it...

Russ

tobym 06-05-2012 04:49 PM

crown vic idea

I've heard of crown vics as donors but yeah not on 66 n earlier trucks. Thankx and I will try to research it some more.

timothale 06-10-2012 05:17 PM

Jag it