Stripping an 89 Vette - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2009, 01:34 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Stripping an 89 Vette

I plan on stripping my 89 Vette myself and have someone else paint it. I have never done this before. Some say to use an SMC and Urethane safe stripper. Others say to use a DA. If I go with the DA, which one is better. The palm sander, or the hand held sander? Are the electric palm sanders any good?

What do you guys use to strip the paint in the areas you can't get the DA?

I plan on taking it down to the black factory sealer. Here is why:

Pic of upper half of driver door. Crows feet:

Nose area. Looks like the paint has millions of micro chips in it:

Though, it looks good driving around town:

I've been looking into using SPI products, and House of Kolor BC-25 black base.
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-05-2009, 02:20 AM
point on positive

Last photo:

My vote would be to hand block sand with a long board and 180 grit using the present paint for a guide.

One panel at a time until no defects show keeping it level the whole way.

If you want it straight and nice for paint don't machine sand it.
Old 03-05-2009, 02:33 AM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by milo
My vote would be to hand block sand with a long board and 180 grit using the present paint for a guide.

One panel at a time until no defects show keeping it level the whole way.

If you want it straight and nice for paint don't machine sand it.
Would'nt hand sanding it take a long time? I don't think I'd have enough energy to hand sand the entire car.