Stroker Kits - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2002, 10:21 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Stroker Kits

I have a small block ford and want to build a stroker out of it. what are some good companys that sell a stroker kit.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2002, 10:39 AM
Biggarmike's Avatar
Chief Procrastinator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Florida
Age: 58
Posts: 358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

PAW, Summit, Jegs etc. They all have matched component sets. I used a "kit" from PAW and built a 383 Chevy. I used it in my 67 Camaro. It had so much torque, about 1/2 the time the passenger door would pop open when I grabbed second too hard. (convertible flex) 480 HP on the dyno (with AV-Gas) for less than $3500 total. Spend the money to have the rotating assembly balanced, it's well worth the expense!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2002, 11:21 AM
NAIRB's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: cimarron, ks
Posts: 1,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

Try <a href="http://www.speedwaymotors.com" target="_blank">www.speedwaymotors.com</a>
They've got a neato catalogue, and hey, they are America's Oldest Speedshop, or one of the oldest, anyway, they've got stroker kits priced right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2002, 10:11 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool

rad! thanks for the info. Now I have a 64 1/2 289. the stroker kit sez from a 302 to a 347. So is that starting with a 302 or can I bore out my 289 and still stroke it.

[ October 16, 2002: Message edited by: Jeff69cat ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2002, 03:17 PM
mustang66maniac's Avatar
Ford Freak
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rockville, MD
Age: 30
Posts: 676
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

289s and 302s have the same 4 inch bore. To get 347 just bore it out 30 thousandths (.030) and put the kit in. It doesn't matter if its a 289 or 302 to begin with, they are the same block.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2002, 03:32 PM
woodz428's Avatar
Troll Hunter
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philo,Il
Posts: 2,702
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

They are almost the same block, the 302 has a little more cylinder at the bottom of the bore to make it a little more stable when they went to the 3" stroke from the 289s 2.87" stroke. If you were just going to a 302 I'd say no big deal, but if you're going to stroke it the extra cylinder length of the 302 block is a good thing. 302 blocks are cheap and plentiful, I would start there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2002, 10:02 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Washington
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

thanks for the input. sounds like i didn't know if the blocks were the same or not.

[ October 18, 2002: Message edited by: Jeff69cat ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2002, 10:39 AM
engineczar's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In Flowbench nirvana
Age: 52
Posts: 1,666
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
Post

Built a 347 this summer with a kit from Scat. Price was good, the parts were good quality. The option to balance was there but I opted to do it myself. Just remember most stroker kits for the 302 require some grinding at the bottom of the bores to clear the rods so don't go too far before checking the clearance.
__________________
BSE Racing Engines
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.