Sub floors in rod projects - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2007, 11:44 PM
Always look up in a custom

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Sub floors in rod projects

HI there. New to the forum. I've been doing upholstery for the last 7 years or so. Really into the Kustom look.

I've seen it before and read about it recently in Street Rodder. Does anyone use subflooring when doing floors on street rods? Putting down 1/8" luan as flooring and covering that with carpet? Yes, I can see that it would make fantastically flat, tight and square carpet, and the edging would be nice and crisp. But I'd be worried that someone with a heavy foot would splinter it, or there's be fitment problems with the seat legging.

When I've done carpet in street rods, I use 1/2" jute to build up and sound supression. Then just lay the carpet over the jute like in normal cars.

I'm just wondering if anyone uses the subflooring on a regular basis, and how it lasts?

Thanks,
russell

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2007, 08:47 PM
First name...............Shawn

Last photo: