SunPro SuperTach II HELP! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2004, 04:41 PM
Sagacious's Avatar
Do you feel like we do?
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: austin, TX
Age: 29
Posts: 122
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SunPro SuperTach II HELP!

a friend of mine just recently sold me a sunpro supertach II. the green wire is to the dist, white is for illumination, red is positive and black is negative. i hooked it all up... and came to realize it's probably not setup for an 8 cylinder...and to my surprise it jumps to 8,000rpm and slowly keeps getting lower, so it's not working correctly. i know they work on 4-6-8 cylinders, but how do i change that setting? i assume it needs to be taken apart and have some pins changed around. ahh. someone help.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2004, 06:02 PM
crazy larry's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: better comparison before and after shots
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: East Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 2,298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unscrew the mounting bracket, the selector switch is on the back.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2004, 07:21 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,905
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 61 Posts
These tachs are very slow to respond and lag terribly during full throttle excursions, I would be wary of trusting one to read correctly during full throttle blasts.

Don't ask me how I found this out, it was expensive. Assume it's a 1000 rpm slow in these circumstances because the engine will outrun the tach. A good quality Autometer Monster tach is a much safer bet for high performance use.



$114 is a bargain.
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2004, 10:53 PM
rj57's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: OH
Posts: 344
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Sun tachs I have all have an adjusting slot in the back you rotate for the engine you have.

True Autometer makes a great product, but I like the Sun tachs I have. And yes I'll admit I'm usually not out side stepping the clutch at 6,000rpm or higher.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2004, 11:25 PM
E.T. divided by $ spent= Speed
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYS america's unwiped butt
Age: 35
Posts: 1,858
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I use Sun tachs and I'cve had no problems with mine either.I'm not using it in a strip car or nothing but for a streeter its fine.
Yea the Autometers are better but also $100 more(thats a cam and lifter kit or an intake or something).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2004, 10:46 AM
crazy larry's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: better comparison before and after shots
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: East Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 2,298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if your going to the strip, DO [size=+2]NOT BUY AN AUTOGAGE TACH[/SIZE] BY AUTO METER

AUTOMETER doesn't pay contingency money for their auto gage line. you got's to spend a little more for the contingency eligible stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2004, 11:59 AM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,905
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 61 Posts
Sorry Larry, I didn't know that?

Which tachs are contingency eligible?

The SunPro tachs are good enough for mild street use but just not of an "instrument" quality, on my RX7 12A the factory tach was better than the SunPro cheapies by a lot...like 2000 rpm out at 8500 rpm on the factory tach.

I don't trust them after seeing that.

The cheap monster tachs are decent, mechanism must be the same as the more expensive tachs...if you don't mind the loss of contingency cash they are accurate and responsive.

I think I let the kids play with the SunPro II I had, it's probably mounted to some jeep toycar around here somewhere.
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2004, 12:40 PM
crazy larry's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: better comparison before and after shots
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: East Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 2,298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
heres a link to the auto meter site, it's flash, sorry.

click

for running anything but all out rpm racing, the Auto Gage is fine, as i think the sunpro is.....( not that i'm running a sunpro.....shhh)

Quote:
Originally posted by 4 Jaw Chuck
These tachs are very slow to respond and lag terribly during full throttle excursions, I would be wary of trusting one to read correctly during full throttle blasts.
i've noticed that by the time my foot is out of the throttle, that the needle still hasn't peaked, and i wonder if it is peaking at all?

i really do not think my red line is 5200 rpm. it could be, but i think i'm winding just a little higher than that though.



as far as the contingency cash, you have to run two BIG auto meter stickers. at least their yellow!

Last edited by crazy larry; 08-16-2004 at 12:40 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2004, 12:42 AM
Sagacious's Avatar
Do you feel like we do?
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: austin, TX
Age: 29
Posts: 122
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
another tach problem...

i got the tach wired up, and moved the switch behind the bracket to "8" cylinder. at first the needle would point straight down when you start the car, then slowly work its way down to what seems to be the correct rpm. but as you drive the car the needle becomes very tempermental, showing like 5-6k rpm when im crusing at like 2k. the tach needle moves up and down with the blinkers as they blink, and also it responds to how high my stereo is. electrical interference? duh? find a different ground and 12v accessory line? probably common sense, i didnt think about sharing power/ground but i'd appreciate some input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2004, 04:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well my opinion is forget the Sun and get an AutoMeter product. I had an AutoMeter 5" SportComp with shift light in my GTO till someone broke in it a couple of years ago, best tach I ever used. I have one of the Sun tachs in there right now with shift light that you can't see during the day and I don't think the thing has ever read right. Very slow to respond seems like it reads slow at higher rpm's. As soon as I can raise the money I'll have another AutoMeter product back in there even if it's an AutoGage. I happen to like to be blinded by a bright light when it's time for me to start grabbing gears.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.