Hot Rod Forum banner

supercharging a 72 chevy 350

6K views 16 replies 8 participants last post by  39 chev 
#1 ·
ok so im building a 1923 t-bucket rat rod and im starting from the motor and going from there. i have a 350 block. the numbers on the block say its a 1972. now im only 17 so im still learning in the process of me doing this project with the help of my dad (who is a mechanic) but i wanted to know if someone could tell me what im going to have to do to this engine when im rebuilding it so i can stick a supercharger on it. i know i need a supercharger friendly cam. .. not sure what else.

#2 ·
ok so im building a 1923 t-bucket rat rod and im starting from the motor and going from there. i have a 350 block. the numbers on the block say its a 1972. now im only 17 so im still learning in the process of me doing this project with the help of my dad (who is a mechanic) but i wanted to know if someone could tell me what im going to have to do to this engine when im rebuilding it so i can stick a supercharger on it. i know i need a supercharger friendly cam. .. not sure what else.

#5 ·
how much power do you need? If its for looks and not a serious race car you can under drive the blower with a near stock cam and make 400 plus reliable hp,very cheap.There are a couple cars like that in my neighbourhood,2 of them have been running over 10 years with nothing other than normal services.one rat rod is raced a few times every year.It runs low 12,s with 2 carter AFBs.Obviously the car makes 400 HO or less

#7 ·
Hey Grant, I'm not a moron! I did my "get this book" on the thread he posted on the Engines board before the threads were combined.

Hey jeseusmi, Grant (GT23T) and I are both blown T-bucket guys. We strongly recommend you educate yourself with that book so that you can ask the right questions when you are ready to build your motor.

#10 ·