Swapped 700r4 now the engine is backfireing? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2009, 07:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Age: 29
Posts: 90
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Swapped 700r4 now the engine is backfireing?

I had a back torque converter leak. I came across the whole 700r4 for a good price so I swapped it. I went for a testdrive today and it went into first gear second then I stepped on it and it bogged out and backfired..Someone in the transmission threads said because I didnt remove the Distributor..i might have(which it did) pressed agianst the firewall and messed it up. My question is...if It is messed up..can I just replace the cap maybe adjust the timing or do I need to replace the whole dist. includint the shaft that goes into the engine? Thanks.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2009, 08:20 PM
S10 Racer's Avatar
http://www.warsprints.com
 

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: At The Dirt Tracks
Age: 55
Posts: 1,888
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevy350Sb
I had a back torque converter leak. I came across the whole 700r4 for a good price so I swapped it. I went for a testdrive today and it went into first gear second then I stepped on it and it bogged out and backfired..Someone in the transmission threads said because I didnt remove the Distributor..i might have(which it did) pressed agianst the firewall and messed it up. My question is...if It is messed up..can I just replace the cap maybe adjust the timing or do I need to replace the whole dist. includint the shaft that goes into the engine? Thanks.
Chances are that it just cracked the cap. I would replace just the cap and give it a try.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2009, 09:36 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,394
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 469 Times in 426 Posts
Yep, just the cap and rotor, the distributor shaft and housing are strong enough you couldn't have hurt them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2009, 10:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Age: 29
Posts: 90
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
do I need to know what kind of Dist. I have or will any sbc dist. work. How do I set up the timing after replacing it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2009, 11:28 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: oklahoma
Age: 32
Posts: 250
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would replace the cap and rotor then run a timing light to see if any adjustments need to be made. You shouldn't have to adjust the distributor unless it got turned when the cap got cracked.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2009, 12:43 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
What trans was previously in the vehicle? if it was any trans that used a modulator valve did you plug the vacuum line? If not it`ll run as you discribe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2009, 01:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Age: 29
Posts: 90
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleVision
What trans was previously in the vehicle? if it was any trans that used a modulator valve did you plug the vacuum line? If not it`ll run as you discribe.

It had a 700r4 and I replaced it with a 700r4- do they have a modular valve?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2009, 05:52 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Nope that`s why I asked what tranny it had previously.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2009, 06:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Age: 29
Posts: 90
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I put a MSD dist. cap and rotor kit on my stock dist. if indeed my cap is broken ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2009, 03:23 PM
old76c10's Avatar
all jacked up on mountain dew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: louisiana
Age: 37
Posts: 66
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
could have also pinched some wires between the block and bellhousing...does it run fine in park?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2009, 06:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Age: 29
Posts: 90
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by old76c10
could have also pinched some wires between the block and bellhousing...does it run fine in park?

it does run fine in park..it just replaced the cap and rotor..but in the process of putting on the rotor i turned it slightly..did I throw my timing off? now it seems to not backfire as much but when I put it in reverse It sounded like it wanted to turn off.. How do I set the timing right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2009, 05:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Age: 29
Posts: 90
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if its missing will it backfire

i replaced the distributor and its still running the same..its actually running worse now. It idels rough and seems like its missing. When I put it in drive it seems like it wants to turn off, any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2009, 05:54 PM
old76c10's Avatar
all jacked up on mountain dew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: louisiana
Age: 37
Posts: 66
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
check your voltage going to the dizzy and check for a pinched off ground or power wire between block and bellhousing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2009, 06:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Age: 29
Posts: 90
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ok, turns out I had a couple wires crossed I fixed that but its still running like it did before I replaced the dist.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2009, 08:54 AM
sbchevfreak's Avatar
Licenced Automotive Technician
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land of big Easter eggs, Alberta
Age: 34
Posts: 1,604
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Set the timing. You will need a timing light, and the specs for your engine. Y/M/M would help. If did not get the dizzy back in exactly the same position when you replaced it, your timing will be off, and could be a considerable amount.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SBC 350 superiority rebuttle...was:POWERED BY CHEVY, WRITTEN ON A FORD, (from 'Engine Oldsmolac911 Hotrodders' Lounge 50 01-12-2011 10:00 PM
700r4 rebuild..no engine brakeing new.guy Transmission - Rearend 3 08-13-2009 09:17 PM
Valve Lash adjustment hiball Engine 36 05-11-2009 10:12 AM
Whats the quickest you ever swapped an engine? Kevin45 Hotrodders' Lounge 41 03-25-2005 09:19 PM
Ne 700R4 during engine break-in AngliaBob Transmission - Rearend 2 12-06-2004 10:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.