T-350: do i need a stall converter or use stock converter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 05:29 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: alabama
Posts: 120
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
T-350: do i need a stall converter or use stock converter

i have a th350 tranny with a chevy 350 engine (468/268 cam with headers) and 411 gears in the rear. do i need a stall converter or will the stock converter work. the cam is very mild. i am not sure what i have now my tranny quit but i can't tell what torque converter i have. please help


thanks
tyrone

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 09:25 PM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 7,453
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 292
Thanked 709 Times in 684 Posts
even stock converters come in different stalls.If you are replacing the trans then also replace the converter.they are not expensive,just go to a local shop that rebuilds stock converters and ask for a stock(heavy duty) converter from a small engine.16-1800 is good enough for a mild engine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 03:32 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,051
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
I used to run a B&M Holeshot converter on my TH350 and ran really good. It works very nice on a mild 350. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chevy 350 torque converter stall? 70' c10 Transmission - Rearend 6 03-22-2011 04:42 PM
Did I buy a stall converter or a stock one in a TCI box? heathj1 Transmission - Rearend 5 07-04-2009 05:50 AM
B&M Torkmaster 2400 rpm stall converter vs. stock torque converter??? zbhover Transmission - Rearend 2 11-02-2008 07:52 PM
stock converter stall speed? stickysilverbird Transmission - Rearend 2 03-04-2008 07:33 PM
what is a stock stall converter for a 350 turbo? batman09 Transmission - Rearend 6 12-05-2004 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.