T-400 kickdown switch - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2012, 08:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
T-400 kickdown switch

Hey everyone,
I have a TH400 that is missing the kickdown switch. A couple of questions. First can not having the kickdown switch hooked up cause the trans to go directly to second and bypass first? Or is this a valve module out of adjustment? Just seems as though I am not getting the take off response I have when I manually shift to first when taking off.
Next I see Lokar has a HI tech kickdown switch set up that mounts on the trans and has a cable running up to the carb to activate it. Has anyone used these? Are there any adjustments required to the switch itself? These are pretty pricey compared to the standard switch set up. Just looking to see if anyone thinks they are any better or if this merely for looks.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2012, 11:55 PM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 8,644
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 364
Thanked 858 Times in 820 Posts
theres no vacuum module on the transmission?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2012, 12:23 AM
327NUT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Utah
Age: 68
Posts: 3,300
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 98 Times in 87 Posts
If you decide to go with the Lokar unit you can find them on ebay for about $85.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2012, 05:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinniekq2 View Post
theres no vacuum module on the transmission?
Yeah, There is a vacuum module on it now. Not sure if it correctly adjusted though. The trans seems to skip first when I am in D. But when I manually shift from 1st to second to third all goes well. Wasn't sure if the missing kickdown switch had something to do with this or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2012, 05:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 327NUT View Post
If you decide to go with the Lokar unit you can find them on ebay for about $85.
So haw are these activated? By pushing or by pulling the cable? Was looking for a dagram on them but everthing I have found is pretty vauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kickdown switch for TH400 Chucky5150 Electrical 3 04-15-2011 02:51 PM
T-400 Kickdown switch help remist17 Transmission - Rearend 12 11-04-2010 08:40 AM
looking for a kickdown switch dawg Transmission - Rearend 1 07-01-2007 07:08 PM
kickdown switch Blown79 Transmission - Rearend 2 08-31-2004 07:24 AM
kickdown switch Blown79 Engine 3 08-30-2004 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.