T-400 Kickdown switch help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2010, 10:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
T-400 Kickdown switch help

Hello all....
I have a 87 Chevy R10 with a 4.3V6 and 400 trans. I am putting in a 383 with a rebuilt 400. Can anyone tell me the location of the kickdown switch on this year truck? I have never worked with a 400 before and not sure what the switch looks like. I am not sure if it is still there.

Any help is appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2010, 11:31 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,569
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 156 Times in 143 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by remist17
Hello all....
I have a 87 Chevy R10 with a 4.3V6 and 400 trans. I am putting in a 383 with a rebuilt 400. Can anyone tell me the location of the kickdown switch on this year truck? I have never worked with a 400 before and not sure what the switch looks like. I am not sure if it is still there.

Any help is appreciated.
There isn't one. The TBI trucks controlled the TH400 kickdown from the ECU by reading the throttle position sensor. I assume you're dumping the computer so you'll need to rig a kickdown switch from an earlier TH400 truck. Any 1986-earlier full size pickup with TH400 should have the switch on the accelerator pedal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_padavano
There isn't one. The TBI trucks controlled the TH400 kickdown from the ECU by reading the throttle position sensor. I assume you're dumping the computer so you'll need to rig a kickdown switch from an earlier TH400 truck. Any 1986-earlier full size pickup with TH400 should have the switch on the accelerator pedal.

thanks for the confirmation on computer and yes no computer. Any one have some photos of the switch on the pedal so Iknow what I am looking for in the junkyard?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:55 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,569
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 156 Times in 143 Posts
The switch looks like this, though the truck bracket may be different. Just look at the accelerator pedal where it bolts to the firewall under the dash. The switch will be right above the pedal. Any 1986-earlier truck with a TH400 will have one.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-02-2010, 06:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Going ot order the B&M switch from Summit and fab a bracket to the gas pedal. Anyone do this before?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2010, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 55
Posts: 358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Just a couple of other suggestions

Yogi's has a Lokar kickdown for the TH400 with no fab needed. It sells for around $70. Or...you could just wire a switch to activate the kickdown and save a bunch. Just my $.02

Barry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2010, 10:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
any suggestions on installation and how to's?

Order from summit the B&M for 35 bucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2010, 10:31 AM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
With just a little fabrication ... you can have a neat, functional 400 kick down switch.



This is the one on my 32 Ford roadster. There is not enough room in/around the firewall/floorboard area for a foot operated switch. The older Chevrolets and Buick used a accelerator activated switch so I just made a little bracket and fixed a small switch to work on the 400 Turbo in my 32 Ford/with SBC.

__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Deuce For This Useful Post:
Juleshulings (03-05-2013)
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2010, 11:22 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,569
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 156 Times in 143 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deuce
With just a little fabrication ... you can have a neat, functional 400 kick down switch.
Of course that's a viable option, but I'm lazy and with no fabrication one can bolt on factory parts for a C/K truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2010, 03:01 PM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_padavano
Of course that's a viable option, but I'm lazy and with no fabrication one can bolt on factory parts for a C/K truck.




True, so true ...

But maybe not everyone looking at this thread has a C/K truck.
A LOT of vehicles just do not have the room for a factory type C/K switch.
Most early street rods ... do not.
I also realize that most early street rods have gone to using the automatic overdrive transmissions ...
not the older Turbo 400's. I have the 700R4 in my 32 3W.

.
__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2010, 07:51 PM
junior stocker's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Everett, Washington
Age: 63
Posts: 821
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_padavano
Of course that's a viable option, but I'm lazy and with no fabrication one can bolt on factory parts for a C/K truck.

B and M sells an IDENTICAL setup to take the DIY and fab out of you hands.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:15 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,104
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 343
Thanked 103 Times in 99 Posts
Earlier in my life span , I used the brake lite switches off motorcycles , when they had the pull type switch with a spring attached to them
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2010, 07:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
appreciate the help all.

Anyone out there have a installed gas pedal installation? Looking for all the options.

I am thinking a small modification to a old bracket I have could work on the carb realitvely easy.
Does the pull chord need to attach to the same place the throttle cable goes? I am running a Jegs billet throttle linkage setup were the stock throttle cable attaches. I am thinking I can mount a braket below this and run the spring up to the point on the carb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-400 kickdown switch krunch007 Transmission - Rearend 4 09-12-2012 04:15 AM
T-400 Kickdown switch location ? Tank Killer Transmission - Rearend 1 01-03-2012 03:03 AM
looking for a kickdown switch dawg Transmission - Rearend 1 07-01-2007 06:08 PM
kickdown switch Blown79 Transmission - Rearend 2 08-31-2004 06:24 AM
kickdown switch Blown79 Engine 3 08-30-2004 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.