T-400 problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2012, 02:42 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
T-400 problem

Hello, i have an problem with my TH400, i diassembly it full, and assemble it again with the same parts, i put it in the vehicule, put oil on it and run, the vehicule move good like 30seconds, and then al gears are like it was in neutral, so i popped out the cooler line and start it, and i observe that it spit some air, so i plug the oil line again, run the vehicule, and it do the same thing, 30sec and all gears neutral, it change gear very well, the level seems to be right, should i add more trans oil?, i have a deep pan, and i put like 10quarts of oil on it, there's a method to bleed the air?

pd:sorry for english im from Chile

Regards

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2012, 06:55 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
No need to bleed air from the Cooler lines.
With the Engine running fluid should be pumping out the Cooler line.
If the TC/TorqueConverter was not fully/completely installed into the Trans Pump it will break the Pump gear.
There should be 1/8" to 3/16" inch clearance between the Flexplate & TC before sliding the TC forward and bolting it up to Flexplate. If no clearance was present the TC was not fully/completely installed.
The fluid level is checked with the engine running.
Automatic Transmission & Torque Converter Fluid Capacity - TCIŽ Auto
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to SSedan64 For This Useful Post:
TJ555 (10-16-2012)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2012, 09:16 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 452
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 132
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I just put a th400 with deep pan in my truck. ive put 16 quarts in and its not full. You need more fluid IMO. I also have a external trans cooler, which adds capacity.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2012, 11:40 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
No need to bleed air from the Cooler lines.
With the Engine running fluid should be pumping out the Cooler line.
If the TC/TorqueConverter was not fully/completely installed into the Trans Pump it will break the Pump gear.
There should be 1/8" to 3/16" inch clearance between the Flexplate & TC before sliding the TC forward and bolting it up to Flexplate. If no clearance was present the TC was not fully/completely installed.
The fluid level is checked with the engine running.
Automatic Transmission & Torque Converter Fluid Capacity - TCIŽ Auto
I have between 1/8 and 3/16" inch clearance, can i MAYBE install something backwards on valve body?, i will throw down the pan tomorrow :/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2012, 01:10 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ555 View Post
I have between 1/8 and 3/16" inch clearance, can i MAYBE install something backwards on valve body?, i will throw down the pan tomorrow :/
also, the pump flows like 1liter per 10seconds when i unplug the cooler line, so i think the pump is good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 04:11 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ555 View Post
also, the pump flows like 1liter per 10seconds when i unplug the cooler line, so i think the pump is good
The amount of flow is correct. So the Pump is working.
Spitting air, it may be low on fluid & allowing the filter to suck air.
With a Deep Pan it will require more fluid than a Stock Pan. May need 2 to 4 qts./ltrs. more.
TC & Trans fluid capacities >> Automatic Transmission & Torque Converter Fluid Capacity - TCIŽ Auto

Are you checking the Trans fluid level with the Engine running?
Do you have the Filter Extension that is used with a Deep Pan? It positions the Filter lower into the Pan.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 07:20 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
The amount of flow is correct. So the Pump is working.
Spitting air, it may be low on fluid & allowing the filter to suck air.
With a Deep Pan it will require more fluid than a Stock Pan. May need 2 to 4 qts./ltrs. more.
TC & Trans fluid capacities >> Automatic Transmission & Torque Converter Fluid Capacity - TCIŽ Auto

Are you checking the Trans fluid level with the Engine running?
Do you have the Filter Extension that is used with a Deep Pan? It positions the Filter lower into the Pan.
i'm checking the level running, its a little more than full, i also puto the filter extension.
the trans was working and i diassembly it because the driveshaft broke and made a little hole in the case, i weld it and reassembly with the same parts.
Can i put something on the valvebody in the incorrect position?, now i will take off the pan to check for something there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 01:15 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 452
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 132
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
sorry but 10 quarts doesent seem like its enough. not even for a stock pan.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 04:50 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
10 quarts is about right if he didnt drain convertor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 06:53 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
It is possible something in the Valvebody isn't correct, Checkballs, Valves, Springs, Gaskets.
Also in the Pump, Pressure Regulator & Boost Valves, Gasket.

If you have a Pressure gauge you can test it to see what's going on.
0-200psi. gauge & hose will work. 1/8" NPT Port on left side of Trans.

1000rpm w/brakes applied:
Neutral = 55-70psi.
Drive = 60-90psi.
Drive-2 = 135-160psi.
Reverse = 95-150psi.

Drive @Idle = 60-85psi.
Drive 1000rpm w/Detent Solenoid On = 90-110psi.

Is the Modulator hooked up to Manifold vacuum?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to SSedan64 For This Useful Post:
TJ555 (10-17-2012)
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 09:56 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
It is possible something in the Valvebody isn't correct, Checkballs, Valves, Springs, Gaskets.
Also in the Pump, Pressure Regulator & Boost Valves, Gasket.

If you have a Pressure gauge you can test it to see what's going on.
0-200psi. gauge & hose will work. 1/8" NPT Port on left side of Trans.

1000rpm w/brakes applied:
Neutral = 55-70psi.
Drive = 60-90psi.
Drive-2 = 135-160psi.
Reverse = 95-150psi.

Drive @Idle = 60-85psi.
Drive 1000rpm w/Detent Solenoid On = 90-110psi.

Is the Modulator hooked up to Manifold vacuum?
Ok, i took off pan and VB, and it was missing one spring (Picture)



So i took off one from another VB, tomorrow i will test it.
can the missing spring cause the problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2012, 05:13 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ555 View Post
Ok, i took off pan and VB, and it was missing one spring (Picture)



So i took off one from another VB, tomorrow i will test it.
can the missing spring cause the problem?
Isn't that spring, the problem continues after put it, i dont know what else can be :/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
transmission

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turbo 400 problem astrovanman Transmission - Rearend 2 07-08-2012 12:39 PM
400 TH Problem? reflog Transmission - Rearend 6 07-16-2008 07:39 AM
turbo 400 problem JamesRS Transmission - Rearend 13 10-03-2004 04:27 PM
TH 400 shift problem BigBlock69 Transmission - Rearend 34 02-03-2004 11:43 PM
I think I may have a problem, (400/4BBL) ramjet Engine 2 03-09-2003 07:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.