T-400 won't shift - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2009, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 55
Posts: 339
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
T-400 won't shift

Hey folks...I did some searching but still have a question. I'm building a 48 chevy p/u with a 355/th400. The tranny didn't want to shift out of 1st. I'm going to check the vacuum tonight to make sure that isn't the problem but I was wondering...I don't have the proper hookup for the kickdown so I just left it off completely. Would the fact that there isn't a connection at all affect the shifting? If I'm not going to use the kickdown should it be grounded? I'm hoping all I'm looking at is poor/no vacuum as far as the shifting goes. Thanks in advance for your help.

Barry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:10 AM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Hi,
If the modulator valve isn't the cause, check the governor it has a plastic gear on it that wares out & cause it not to shift.
Rich
If you don't hook up the detent you will need to manually shift it to second gear when you need more power to pass something

Last edited by richard stewart 3rd; 07-07-2009 at 08:26 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:19 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 595 Times in 545 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard stewart 3rd
Hi,
If the modulator valve isn't the cause, check the governor it has a plastic gear on it that wares out & cause it not to shift.
Rich
Dollar to a donut Richard is correct w/the governor gear. It'll stay in first, no matter what you do. It's an easy fix, fortunately. Just drive out a roll pin, and reverse to reinstall. Finding a new gear isn't hard, either. Most any tranny shop will have them. Prob. set you back <$20.00 TL, possibly less.

Remember to place a pan under the cover to catch any fluid. , you can reseal w/RTV if need be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2009, 04:17 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornfieldcars
Hey folks...I did some searching but still have a question. I'm building a 48 chevy p/u with a 355/th400. The tranny didn't want to shift out of 1st. I'm going to check the vacuum tonight to make sure that isn't the problem but I was wondering...I don't have the proper hookup for the kickdown so I just left it off completely. Would the fact that there isn't a connection at all affect the shifting? If I'm not going to use the kickdown should it be grounded? I'm hoping all I'm looking at is poor/no vacuum as far as the shifting goes. Thanks in advance for your help.

Barry
as far as a no shift condition goes on a th400, it could also be because of a faulty kickdown solenoid, but just fyi, you can run the trans without the kickdown plugged in, it just wont have passing gear.
as far as it possibly being a modulator/no vacuum issue, the trans will still shift, just really late and firm. but normally its a govenor issue. either the valve is stuck, or the gear has been apple-cored. if the govenor is free and the gear ok, id suspect a bad kickdown solenoid. gl
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2009, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 55
Posts: 339
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I pulled the line off and I have vacuum. I started it up and took it up the road again just to check. I tried shifting manually and letting up on the gas and gunning it and it did shift into 2nd so I'm kind of leaning toward the modulator. They aren't expensive so I will probably get a new one regardless. I'll do some more experimenting tonight. Thanks.

Barry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2009, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 55
Posts: 339
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bought a new modulator yesterday and installed it lastnight. Truck shifts perfectly now!!! I love $14 fixes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my turbo 400 won't shift!! skylark65 Transmission - Rearend 2 07-01-2007 07:58 PM
Won't shift 2 Zeater1 Transmission - Rearend 4 08-17-2006 06:46 AM
Won't Shift Zeater1 Transmission - Rearend 3 08-16-2006 05:27 AM
turbo 400 won't shift out of 1st gpeak Transmission - Rearend 7 10-12-2003 08:52 PM
It Won't Shift! adryan16 Transmission - Rearend 4 12-12-2002 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.