T-5 behind SBC - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2002, 12:37 PM
Maverick's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Little Rock, Ar
Age: 44
Posts: 339
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post T-5 behind SBC

Iam trying to decide on tarnny's for my '49 Chevy truck. I have a SBC 305 (It was free!) that Iam going to put in it. Since the motor is such low torque I want something with more the 3 gears and no computer. I would like a 700R4 auto but those are hard and expensive to come by. So Iam looking into and T-5 out of a S-10 or maybe a Manual out of a full size truck. Will the T-5 mount to the SBC? Any suggestions on what I should use?

Thanks!
<img src="graemlins/pimp.gif" border="0" alt="[pimp]" />

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2002, 11:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

You should be able to get a T-5 out of a late 80's camaro to fit with no problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2002, 09:02 PM
Joe S's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mi.
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I beleive that the 4.3 S-10 will bolt up to your 305. shifter is in the middle of the trans were the Camaro shifter is at the rear of the trans. S-10 is easier to find but weaker than v-8 Camaro.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2002, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Daytona Bch.
Posts: 79
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I disagree with the S-10 trans being weaker...

The S-10 trans(also came in a full-size 4.3 powered p/up) is a Getrag NV3500. This tranny is pretty rugged. They are pretty expensive and hard to find in salvage yards. They have an integral bellhousing...all one piece.

I am currently building a '32 Tudor sedan with a '62 L79-style 327, and I chose the Getrag for this car, like mentioned above the shifter is further forward. Very rugged construction on this trans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2002, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Garland, Maine
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Even a 305 will make a T5 blow chunks...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2002, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 136
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

the newer V6 camaros have a version of the T-5 in them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-07-2002, 02:35 AM
deuce_454's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 1,000
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

the t-5 works fine up to about 250 hp, remember they came on mustang 5.0īs aswell and as long as you stick a 305 infront and dont speedshift like a 16 year old at his first race, you should be just fine for about the first 100.000 miles. and you have the 33% overdrine in fifth, i would go with the t-5
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2002, 12:51 PM
johnsongrass1's Avatar
Race it, Don't rice it!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbia, Mo
Age: 38
Posts: 4,127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Post

Ive been running the new t-5 for three years under 410 horse and 375 ft lbs or torque! Banging gears with a BM shifter. Even running 12'2 in the Qtr every other weekend!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2002, 01:14 PM
Maverick's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Little Rock, Ar
Age: 44
Posts: 339
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Thanks johnsongrass! What was that T-5 out of??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2002, 01:42 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: Doors
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: new york
Posts: 168
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I would recomend a 200 R4 they arent bad like the early 200's metricks. They have over drive so they are a 4 speed, the drive shaft is the same as for the turbo 350 but you will need a cross memeber from a turbo 400, and you can get one for under 150 bucks working. It would give you great results and the overdirve is a little higher then on the 700 R4. They are also reated for well over 425 hourse power, so i read
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2002, 03:41 PM
johnsongrass1's Avatar
Race it, Don't rice it!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbia, Mo
Age: 38
Posts: 4,127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Post

Hey, Sorry for the long wait before answering. Got really busy chasing an electrical problem! The T-5 came from an 88 Camaro V-6. Although the V-6 and V-8 interchange phsyically the 6 has slightly lower 1,2,3, gears. The 6 also has a diffrent mount than the 8. Both will still bolt to the tranny, But be sure you get the V-8 style crossmember, The T-5 in the Fords aren't tilted to the side as they are in Chevys for tunnel clearance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2002, 11:22 AM
farna's Avatar
Member
 
Last wiki edit: AMC V-8s Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Batesburg-Leesville, SC
Age: 52
Posts: 1,639
Wiki Edits: 14

Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Wink

You can use the 700R4E without the computer. You will need a pin-out of the electric connetor and can then make a simple switch box. Use a four position rotary switch (Radio Shack sells a six position, it can be used) to change gears, and a toggle switch to activate the lock-up converter. I did this with an all electronic Jeep AW4 and it works great! Just dial your gear like selecting channels on an old fashioned TV set. All you do is run power to the solenoids for the correct gear. You will need some diodes to keep power from feeding back in some gear positions. Two solenoids control the four forward gears, one controls the lock-up converter. On the Jeep tranny the converter won't lock up in first, so I just make sure I put the selector in first just before stopping and leave the converter switch on all the time. I think the GM trans is the same way. The Jeep tranny provides engine braking only in third and fourth when in drive, so no problem there shifting down (engine braking in second and third when selector is in the "3" position). So you still haveto have a lever selector, but change gears with the switch once in drive. Lever selector can be a standard shifter or something simple and unobtrusive like an old Corvair dash mounted lever. A lawnmower throttle control could probably be adapted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.