T-bucket bench seat build - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2011, 09:45 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

T-bucket bench seat build

I thought I would share how I built my seats, I still have to make the patterns and seat covers but here is how I made the bases. This is my first attempt at building seats so if you notice something that will cause issues please let me know.

On to the build:

Okay its time to build some seats:

Okay, a couple months ago I had determined my seat rake and height using a stash of 2x4's, 2x6's, plywood and foam. Now all I had to do was make it all work:

First up lower seat supports:

Then came the base: Lots of tweaks, sanding, more tweaks. Then I finally realized that they do have to be so exact as vinyl, foam and side panels will all take up space, once I figured that out things when a little faster.

Since I have no padding on my *** I wanted a soft seat, so I decided I was going to use webbing to make things more comfy, the original cutout for the webbing:

After showing this it was pointed out that the opening for the webbing was to small as I would be sitting on the plywood and the webbing would not be doing anything, so I adjusted the width and made the openings bigger:

I then attached the supports to the base:

Advertisement

Last edited by Keeper; 05-21-2011 at 09:51 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2011, 09:46 AM

Last photo:

Once the base was built I started on the back. The first "design" did not work out as planned, so instead of wasting a good hunk of plywood, I used it to make a template:

I then transferred to another piece and cut out the back: