Tach Problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2004, 03:25 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tach Problem

Need some help/ideas.

I've got a factory tach dash in my '67 Biscayne. A while back, my Pertronix (early model) malfunctioned and caused several backfires because the Pertronix ring was touching the main unit. It was firing all over the place. Anyway, I replaced it with an old points distributor and got it running.

Yesterday when I went out to start and warm the car up, I noticed the tach wasn't working. I jiggled the wires, but no tach.

I was just wondering if the erratic distributor could have affected the tach? Ever heard of that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:22 AM
Tazz
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: amherst,ohio
Age: 65
Posts: 2,049
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You didn't say but did the tack work after you changed distributors..if It did maybe the tach just died...try hooking up a different tach to the wires and see if that works. Your old one may have just died and its a coincident you just had trouble with the distributor.


Tazz


Rat Rods Rule!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2004, 10:51 AM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No, I noticed the tach didn't work when I drove it to storage after the change. I thought maybe I forgot to hook it back up.

Got a PM from Docvette. He thinks I may have fried the tach. These tach and gauge dashes are really getting rare and expensive.

I'll try to tinker with it first and keep my fingers crossed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.