tachometer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA.
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tachometer

I have an electric AC brand tachometer that I don't understand. It only has one connection on the back for a wire. It is marked dist. 12 volts. It has no 12v supply connection. I hooked this connection to the dist. side of the coil but it doesn't work. I know it's getting juice as I touched it while the car was running. Can anybody help me with this. Thanks Larry

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2008, 08:35 AM
DaSouthWon's Avatar
I put up the tools against$300
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis,Tennessee
Age: 35
Posts: 683
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
What kind of car / distributor / ignition system do you have?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2008, 02:48 PM
mrdreex's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 316
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Buckner
I have an electric AC brand tachometer that I don't understand. It only has one connection on the back for a wire. It is marked dist. 12 volts. It has no 12v supply connection. I hooked this connection to the dist. side of the coil but it doesn't work. I know it's getting juice as I touched it while the car was running. Can anybody help me with this. Thanks Larry
Is it a mount kind? If it's a mount kind, maybe it's intended to be attached to the chassis and grounded that way? My $.02
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tachometer troubleshooting Anyone?? sugar ray Electrical 7 10-20-2009 12:20 AM
Tachometer compatibility 78transam Electrical 10 01-18-2006 11:16 PM
How do I install a tachometer? brian12c Engine 14 10-01-2005 07:39 PM
tachometer manufacturer johnb1 Electrical 2 04-11-2003 07:00 AM
Tachometer wiring fred56 Electrical 5 03-13-2003 06:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.