Tall Valve covers and Finned - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2014, 12:40 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Tall Valve covers and Finned

I have a couple of questions regarding valve covers for an old school build I'm working on. It's my first build in 50 years, buts it's a car that I wanted since I was a young man.
Q-1) Any recommendations or warnings on finned valve covers.
Q-2) Do I need tall v-cover with 1.6 roller rocker on a set of camel humps (not resurfaced) but the block has been decked.
Q-3) what would be the disadvantage of using a tall valve cover if I don't need it?
Sorry for the elementary question but it's a mid-life crisis for me . My wife may shoot me b-4 I'm done with it. I kind of have o measure twice and cut once. Resources are running out.

By the way- it's a Milner knock off.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2014, 01:14 AM
More for Less Racer

Some short finned covers don't have enough height to clear a roller rocker(typically it is the taller rocker nut that is the problem, not the rocker itself).

You can get aluminum spacers that allow the use of short covers instead of using tall covers

Short covers are going to be more early 1960's correct, especially on a Milner-ish clone, and especially curved end (crowned) finned covers or Corvette finned covers. Both of these will need spacers to clear roller rockers. Some straight end finned covers will clear roller rockers.

Tall covers can be a problem with air conditioning compressors mounting on some applications, and with firewall or brake booster clearance depending on the body style....Tall will also be incorrect for the early 60's look IIRC.