Hot Rod Forum banner

Tap and Die sets???

1K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Oldguy48 
#1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I am going to buy a Tap and Die set and am wondering if it is necessary (or recomended) to purchase the more expensive Titanium coated sets? I am a complete rookie to all this. I can get a 46 piece Titanium coated set on sale for $49 ( reg $129) or a 60 piece Heat Treated set for $59 (reg $79). Any opinions welcome.

Thanks

#3 ·
What sizes are you looking for? And for $49 if you are planning on doing a quite a bit of threading and tapping, then hang on to your money. When it comes to taps & dies, and depending on your expertise, you want to make sure that you get a good set. If you pick up a cheap *** Chinese set, the most that they will be good for is cleaning up threads. If you plan on tapping and threading a lot, then a good set would be in order. There are quite a few out there that will fill the bill.

#5 ·
yeah e bay tools real good if you only us em ONCE and then they become dust collectors do not waste your money buying tools from that place sears is better and that is not saying much.

some buy tools to fill the tool box and the rest of us buy them to use.

#7 ·
wacko said:
Hey Everyone,

I am going to buy a Tap and Die set and am wondering if it is necessary (or recomended) to purchase the more expensive Titanium coated sets? I am a complete rookie to all this. I can get a 46 piece Titanium coated set on sale for $49 ( reg $129) or a 60 piece Heat Treated set for $59 (reg $79). Any opinions welcome.

Thanks