targetmaster gm block - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2008, 03:52 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

targetmaster gm block

I have a targetmaster 350 4 bolt main block casting # 10066036. I'm wandering if anyone would know if a early 70's 350 head would work good with this block casting # 3973487X? I still need to get a cam and was wandering if anyone could suggest a good cam for this engine? I'm not looking to build anything to crazy just something for a driver i'm putting it into a 71 camaro but would still like to get a bit of hp out of it. The block looks to be bored 30 over everything looks new in it so i really want to use this engine. thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2008, 07:15 AM

Last photo:

what pistons does it have?

Typically those engines use pistons with 12cc dishes. You will need a set of 64cc heads to make any compression (9.2 to 9.5:1 depending on gasket, deck height, et). With this compression you can run a cam with intake duration in the range of 210 to 220 degrees at 0.050".

Other wise, 76cc heads will get you 8.5:1 cr and will limit the cam intake duration to 195 to 204 degrees at 0.050.

Most 70's cylinder heads will be 76cc. So if you run a stock head then I would just use an edelbrock performer cam (204/214).

I would recommend that you get a set of 180cc darts with 64cc chambers, or get a set of vortec heads, or if you can afford it, get a set of 180cc afr's with 64cc chambers. Power is in the heads. stock 1970 heads suck. You can gain 40 or 50 hp with a set of afr over a stock 70 head even with a mild cam.