TBI assistance needed - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2006, 07:05 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

TBI assistance needed

Currently have a 91 Chevy truck with a 350 TBI motor that went south. Picked up an older 350 (manufactured in 83-85). Is it possible to use the older motor with the TBI setup so that I do not have to go with a carb and change the wiring harness and such. The older 350 is very clean and had very few hours on it. I do not want to switch to a carb and know I will most likely have to switch to another intake manifold. Will the Holley 300-49 be a possible solution? I would think there is an aftermarket inatke manifold for such a conversion.

I am not a mechanic and was told to bore the holes on the TBI intake out some to allow for the 4 center holes in the TBI intake to fit. I tried this and learned very quickly that this would not work. I had a vacuum leak and had trouble timing the engine. The engine runs and sounds strong but I now know this is not the solution. The older motor is in the truck and I am trying to find someone who has gone through the same thing.

Could my other option be taking the heads off my 91 TBI 350 motor and have them reworked? Would they fit on the older block and could I then use the complete TBI setup? I have been playing with this problem for the last month or so and need some real help. THANKS....

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-22-2006, 07:13 PM

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo: