TBI conversion problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2009, 04:49 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

TBI conversion problems

Hi everybody. I am new to the posts here and need some desperate help. I have done a TBI conversion on my 1976 Chevy C10. I got it started but it runs HORRIBLE. I have to babysit the idle until it is warmed up. The idle fluctuates from low to high and often dies. During the first few times of starting it, it dies immediately. I have checked everything imaginable. The IAC and TPS have been adjusted and seemed to help for a day or two but then quit. The egr has been disconnected to rule it out as a problem. The fuel pressure is steady at 12PSI. It has a new cap, rotor, plugs, and wires. There are also a few other problems. It was going into closed loop until I cut the oxygen sensor wire close to the firewall and ran it straight to the O2. The wire had several kinks and bends that were pretty bad. The other problem is an occasional popping in the exhaust and an intake backfire. i hooked it up to the snapon scanner tonight and here are some of the results:

Closed loop: no TPS voltage (idle): .66V Throttle % : 4% (never changed even when revving) IAC position: 70-80 desired idle: 1600!!
Block Learn: 128 Coolant temp: 89C
MAP Kpa: 35-36 MAP voltage (idle):1.3-1.5
ESC count:0 knock: no
IAC position (listed twice for some reason): 69-75

I have to admit, this has been driving me crazy for quite some time. Another thing I thought I noticed is the scanner said something about running in limp mode? I have no idea what would cause this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.