TC lock up idea. Would this work? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2012, 01:11 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TC lock up idea. Would this work?

When I took the computer out of my car I cut the three red, brown, and green wires going to my 700r4. I'm assuming these are power and ground for the lock up? Can I use these three wires and run a toggle off them to make the converter lock? Car is an 84 Z28 if that matters

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2012, 07:22 PM
bigdog7373's Avatar
Of course it's fast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 2,673
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
Yes. I saw a car with a lockup toggle switch on the shifter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2012, 10:19 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Normally just Ground Pin-D and 12V+ to Pin-A at Trans plug.
Info >> http://www.hughesperformance.com/pdfs/HP700-R4.pdf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2012, 07:08 AM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
sw for lockup..

just don't forget to turn it OFF when u come to a stop..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2012, 09:11 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: TN
Posts: 424
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
At a minimum, run the power through the brake switch Normally On connection so that the TCC disengages when you hit the brake.

There are other switches you can put in series in the power line to make TCC lockup more driver friendly such as: vacuum switch and vacuum or timer delay switch.

John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2012, 09:32 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
X2^^,
Running 12V+ thru the Brake switch does help if you have to stop quickly when in 4th gear. Otherwise the TCC doesn't disengage until the Trans downshifts out of 4th. It would be like slamming on the Brakes & not pushing in the Clutch with a Manual Trans.
Newer 700R4s have more Pr. switches & will Lockup in 2nd, 3rd & 4th if the internal wiring isn't changed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2012, 11:55 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alright sounds good. I've heard you need to connect A to a fused ignition source? How can I do that? Splice a wire to an ignition wire and put an inline fuse on it between the splice and the trans? Or an open spot in the fuse box?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2012, 07:05 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsoleski View Post
alright sounds good. I've heard you need to connect A to a fused ignition source? How can I do that? Splice a wire to an ignition wire and put an inline fuse on it between the splice and the trans? Or an open spot in the fuse box?
84/Z-28 should have the 4-Terminal Brake switch that's already fused. Connect to that. The Terminals needed will cut 12V+ when Pedal is depressed. Install a Toggle switch inline for around town driving if wanted to disengage TCC Lockup manually.
http://www.hughesperformance.com/pdfs/HP700-R4.pdf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2012, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: TN
Posts: 424
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
As SSedan said. You don't have to cut any wires. There is already a handy source of fused power going into the brake switch -- the little plunger under the dash that the brake pedal arm presses against when the pedal is pushed.

This switch has a hot feed going in and two male tabs for power out - one tab is normally open (doesn't get power until the brake pedal is applied) and sends power to the brake lights. The other tab is normally closed (supplies power when the brake pedal is not pushed down) and it used to power cruise control or power to the TCC lockup.

Start with a wire with a female connector crimped on and run it from the normally closed male connection to one side of a toggle switch. Connect another wire to the other connection on the toggle switch and run it out through the firewall to the TCC connection on the side of the trans. That will provide power to the TCC if the brake pedal is not depressed and the toggle switch is in the On position.

Like I said earlier, you can also run the wire from the toggle switch thru a vacuum switch before going to the trans if you want to have the feature that disconnects the TCC lockup under high throttle (low vacuum condition).
You get the vacuum signal from one of the nipples on the carburetor -- some like ported vacuum which disconnects TCC if you take your foot off the throttle, others like manifold vacuum which remains high when you let off the throttle and keeps the TCC locked up as long as you don't brake.

John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lock-up converter..how do it work? Prof. T. Soggmeyer Transmission - Rearend 3 04-24-2012 12:03 AM
Ford wagon tailgate lock dosen't work breemijoe Body - Exterior 7 12-24-2010 03:06 PM
Park lock doesn't work on C4 Arrowhead Transmission - Rearend 3 09-24-2006 03:28 PM
weird exhaust idea(would this work?) brian12c Engine 5 07-18-2006 01:40 PM
Will this idea work? OldBucsFan Interior 2 03-10-2004 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.