Temp Gauge Sending Unit and Aluminum Heads - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2012, 10:59 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well damn. So much for the theory if one is good two must be real good.

Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2012, 11:06 PM
blwn31's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Placerville,CA
Posts: 170
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
All you're trying to do is move warm water up to the thermostat so the as to not get the heads overly hot and large temp swings. I just keeps the entire motor at a more stable temp. You can try 2 holes, see if you like the results??? I personally didn't.

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2012, 01:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Age: 70
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwn31
Since you replaced the sending unit I would tend to believe the temp gauge. The heads will run hotter than the intake, that's why I like to take the temp from the intake near the thermostat. One thing I have done to my engine, is drill a small hole (1/16th) in the thermostat to keep a good supply of hot water moving up to the thermostat. I've found this keeps the engine temps more stable instead of the big swings I used to see. Difference for me is, the engine being all aluminum, it was sucking so much heat out of the cylinders, I felt the engine was getting to hot before the thermostat would open. Once I put the bypass hole in, everything became normal.

Keith
My son had this same problem on a 383 stroker w/450 HP. It was his torque converter that wasn't high enough. He ended up with a 2600-2800 stahl on the converter and the overheating stopped. Barry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2012, 02:54 PM
stich626's Avatar
gearheadslife
 

Last journal entry: The TwoTonShu #10
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 372
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
u drill steam holes in those heads?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2012, 09:51 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Steam holes are drilled and I have a 3200 stall converter.

I put the new sending unit in, but I have to find a connector for it now. They give the plastic housing for the connector but not the terminal?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2012, 08:04 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hot rodding is so much fun
Hot rodding is so much fun
Hot rodding is so much fun


That's what I have to keep telling myself.

New problem, the old school sending unit is the wrong resistance. The gauge goes all the way up.

Any ideas what might have a different resistance? I believe I was told there were only two, but I could be talking out my *****.

I thought about buying an adapter fitting and using my old gauge, but there is no way the sending unit would sit in the coolant enough to work properly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2012, 08:29 PM
boothboy's Avatar
More bucks, go faster!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Grass Valley, CA.
Posts: 596
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 181
Thanked 273 Times in 244 Posts
Why don't you just install a brass pipe bushing in your manifold and use your original sending unit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2012, 08:46 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I thought about that, but I've had troubles with those in the past. I wasn't sure if it would allow it to stick in the coolant path enough either, but it's definitely worth a shot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2012, 08:30 AM
boothboy's Avatar
More bucks, go faster!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Grass Valley, CA.
Posts: 596
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 181
Thanked 273 Times in 244 Posts
Just check with a good hardware store and your auto parts store as to who has the fitting that will work for you. They each will have a different supplier. Shouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:24 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I found one without the hex head on it so the sending unit would sit in the coolant as far as it could. So far so good.

Thanks for the help everyone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tranny temp gauge sending unit location yragat Transmission - Rearend 12 12-28-2008 04:12 PM
Temp sending unit busterwivell Hotrodding Basics 5 09-16-2008 07:26 PM
Temp. gauge sending unit parameters? Thinking Man Electrical 0 11-20-2007 06:12 PM
Temp sending unit GMac Electrical 11 10-27-2004 12:46 PM
Temp Sending Unit? Seon Engine 2 06-23-2003 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.