Testing a gas tank sending unit - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2004, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tn
Age: 60
Posts: 61
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Testing a gas tank sending unit

Hey Guys Can you test a sending unit? My gas gauge is new along with the whole car."a street rod" My gas gauge shoots past full when i power it up.I checked all gounds,One from the gauge to the tank and one from the gauge to the frame.Does the tank have to be full once to get a proper reading.I dont much about ohms. Thanks Randy

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2004, 06:55 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not sure what kind of car you have. I know on a Chevy, if you disconnect the tank unit the gauge goes to full. When it's connected but you have a bad ground, it will show empty.

It may sound silly, but could you have the gauge connected in reverse?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tn
Age: 60
Posts: 61
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gas gauge

Its a chevy.Do you mean discinnect the ground at the tank or the power feed to the tank. Also the ground wire. One goes from the back of the gauge to the tank and the other ground goes to a frame ground from the gauge. Is that right? Randy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2004, 04:37 AM
willowbilly3's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Body mods
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Black Hills, South Dakota
Age: 61
Posts: 1,208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhook the guage wire from the sender and it should go to empty. Ground it to the frame and it should go to the full reading. If it does this then the guage and wiring are ok and your problem is at the sender. It is possible that you crossed the wires. Basically the sender is a variable resistance to ground.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2004, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lewisburg,PA
Age: 65
Posts: 332
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Another thing to consider might be that you have the wrong sender for your gas gauge. Sending units are rated in ohms (resistance) and they vary a lot. For instance, the unit for VDO gauges is 10-180 ohms, while the Autometer,Classic,SW and Dolphin gauges use a 240-33 ohm unit. Note that the former have a higher resistance when full, while the latter have a lower resistance when full. Pre 64 GM's use a 0-30 and post 65's use a 0-90. Check your gauge manufacturer for their specs and then check out your sending unit. Yogi's has quite a selection of sending units. Most are about $25.00
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.