th 350 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2006, 03:31 PM
blue85350's Avatar
My car took all my money
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Age: 26
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
th 350

well after i fixed the torque convertor bolts and made it quiet down a little the 700r4 died. i have a th350 but it wont work without some modding, because my camaro uses a torque arm and it cant mount to a th350. so what i was wondering is if i could use the rear section of the 700r4 on the 350 and use the stock driveshaft anyone with info it would be greatly appreciated. btw please keep in mind im a highschool student and this is my dd.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2006, 06:18 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,173
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 409
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue85350
well after i fixed the torque convertor bolts and made it quiet down a little the 700r4 died. i have a th350 but it wont work without some modding, because my camaro uses a torque arm and it cant mount to a th350. so what i was wondering is if i could use the rear section of the 700r4 on the 350 and use the stock driveshaft anyone with info it would be greatly appreciated. btw please keep in mind im a highschool student and this is my dd.

. the tail housing and other parts are not swappable between the 700 & 350 trannys to obtain a tranny that is the correct length for the application.

There was at one time an after market kit to adapt a torque arm setup to a t-350 tail housing.

A 9 inch tail housing t-350 tranny is the same length as the 700/4L60 tranny. The trans mount is in a slightly different location from a t-350 to the t-700

good luck. post back

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2006, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brookfield, WI
Age: 54
Posts: 499
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Monza & Starfire used T350 with torque arm bar mount....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2006, 11:51 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,173
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 409
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chazmac
Monza & Starfire used T350 with torque arm bar mount....
yes.

will that bolt in place of a t-700 tranny on this Camaro?

Will the torque arm reach the t-350 tail housing?

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brookfield, WI
Age: 54
Posts: 499
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I must discipline myself to read the FULL post...

Tony, you are right, the torque arm bar will NOT reach the T350.

Sorry to have misled the lad....
I will retreat in disgrace
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brookfield, WI
Age: 54
Posts: 499
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK so I lied.

Try this site: http://www.teckpak-fitzall.com/teckf...witch_kits.htm

These parts can be ordered thru a trans shop if you can't get them off their site. Unfortunately, this will require the trans to be torn apart...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:54 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,173
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 409
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chazmac
I must discipline myself to read the FULL post...

Tony, you are right, the torque arm bar will NOT reach the T350.

Sorry to have misled the lad....
I will retreat in disgrace

I thought mayb there was something different out there.

I learn something new often, problem is I forget 3 things to 1 new.



A teck-pak spacer with a 9 inch output shaft on the t-350 would be a good option. Finding the torque arm style tail housing for the t-350 could be difficult.

My work place has these tec-pak spacers laying around at times... they come in on the core trannys we buy.

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2006, 04:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brookfield, WI
Age: 54
Posts: 499
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I wonder if the spacer and T350 extension is the same length as the 700 extension by itself...
That way the 700 extension would still fit the car...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:58 AM
blue85350's Avatar
My car took all my money
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Age: 26
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i called all over looking for the conversion bracket to put the 350 in and out of 20-30 shops called one could get it. anyway im ordering it today and should be able to do the conversion on tuesday.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2006, 09:37 PM
fast68's Avatar
likes chevy trucks & boobies
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IL
Posts: 1,970
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you get the the brackets from B&M for 70 bucks, summit carries them, this is how you install th350 trannies into these cars 82-up camaro and firebird,

my 82 tran am was a thm200c and i put in a th350 out of a 77 G20 van, the bracket works great, it uses the bolts that hold the tailshafthousing to the main case and youonlyneedthe outsidehalf of the torque armmount assembly and the rubber part


you either need a 9" tail th350

or a 200c driveshaft from an 82 or 83 camaro or firebird if you have a 6" tail th350. but that driveshaft is not easy to find, it was in 82 and 83 only,


the torque arm reaches all the tranny models

the torque arm is the same length under all the 82-up f bodies, regardless of the transmission


the two driveshafts used under these cars are 3" different in length


all 84-up are the shorter one



good luck

Last edited by fast68; 12-02-2006 at 09:42 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:08 AM
blue85350's Avatar
My car took all my money
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Age: 26
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well i ended up luckily having a 9" tailshaft turbo 350 and i bought a b&m conversion kit and the trans should be in by the end of the week (hopefully)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port or Full time vacuum cool rockin daddy Engine 129 10-05-2010 04:00 PM
Cam/Lifter Question about Ramjet 350 Jake Harsha Engine 20 07-07-2010 07:22 AM
DEBATE: Which heads are better?....Chevy 350, Pontiac 350, Olds 350 or Plymouth 350. Steve-0321 Hotrodding Basics 21 11-26-2007 01:44 AM
305 head on 350 savman1 Engine 4 10-15-2006 10:18 PM
348 or 350 delimma 62ImpalaSS Engine 12 05-18-2006 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.