TH 350 Reverse Manual Valve-body Questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2011, 08:49 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

TH 350 Reverse Manual Valve-body Questions

I am new to this, but here it goes. I bought a Th350 Mega Monster S/S tranny from Monster trans and performance about 3 years ago. Now I know that this isn't the norm for this site but the tranny is a 4x4 version and it is in a Jeep Wrangler with a SB 350 in it mated to a NP205 t-case, but i don't think it should make much difference because it is related to the inner workings of a th350 which would probably benefit everyone who had these questions but never could find the answers, like me. Anyways, I bought the trans, installed it and decided to redo the front suspension completely. During the 8 month period of redoing the front suspension the warranty on the trans. had expired. After the Jeep was roadworthy, I took it for a couple of runs and everything was working great, tranny shifted firm, no slip when you got on it. Just when I thought that everything was good to go, I took my buddy for a ride. To make a long story short, shifted from first to second at about 5500 rpms, the tranny made noises that I didn't want to hear. I was able to limp the rig home. Dropped the pan and saw the carnage. The pan had random pieces of metal from very fine shavings to pieces of what appears to the the cage for one of the sprag clutches. Called Monster Trans and talked to the about it and explained that yes i have have the tranny for a long time but it probably only had 25 miles on it and that when you pay $2000.00 dollars for a trans you would expect it to last a little longer than it did. They wouldn't honor the warranty at all which is unders